Overnight Challah French Toast

Hi there!

I had no intention of blogging today. But I made the most amazing breakfast this morning, and I just had to tell you about it. I saved you some. But if you don’t get here in the next two hours, it’s going to become an after-school snack for The Critics.

First of all, let me just say that I don’t like french toast. I have a thing about soggy bread. It’s the same thing that keeps me from eating hot turkey sandwiches after Thanksgiving. But for some reason, I am obsessed with french toast recipes. I think I just want so badly to like it. It sounds so yummy. Sometimes I read a recipe, like boozy baked french toast from smitten kitchen, and I get so excited… until I remember that I just don’t like french toast.

I could, of course, take my sister’s suggestion and try the boozy french toast… but hold the french toast!

So I made challah bread the other day, and decided to try this recipe from Tammy. It appealed to me because of the crumb and berry topping. And because french toast recipes appeal to me, in general.

Overnight Challah French Toast

from Tammy’s Recipes

  • 1/2 of a large challah loaf, torn into large chunks (about 12 cups)
  • 5 eggs
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 cups milk
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup oats
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 3 cups fresh or frozen berries (I used blueberries)

Directions:

  1. Grease a 9×13-inch baking dish. Place torn bread in a layer (dish should be 3/4 full).
  2. Lightly beat the eggs, sugar, and vanilla in a medium bowl. Add the milk. Pour over bread. Cover and refrigerate overnight.
  3. Combine remaining ingredients (except berries) in a bowl and cut together (I use two butter knives) until a coarse crumb mixture forms. Cover and refrigerate until morning.
  4. In the morning, stir the bread mixture in the baking dish and smooth out into one layer again. Sprinkle fruit over the top and the crumb topping over the fruit.
  5. Bake at 375ยบ for about 55-60 minutes, until center is set. No need for syrup (unless you want it)!

The Critics came floating downstairs this morning, with their noses leading the way, like a cartoon. It smelled soooo good! And they loved it:

Sarah Crewe: This is delicious galore!

Batman: This is delicious galore, plus 100 stars!

Curious George: It’s hot, but good.

Elmo: Yes. My bread.

Don Corleone: This is pretty super awesome!

And you know what? I ate some, too. At least the parts that weren’t too soggy. The crusty pieces of bread with the berries and crumb topping were divine!

Challah French Toast

I’m sorry I don’t have any movie pictures today, but, like I said, this was kind of an impromptu post.

I was going to share a picture that my 8-year-old did, titled: “The American Girls versus The Clone Wars.” But my scanner won’t listen to me. Don’t worry, I won’t hurt it. At least not while you’re watching.

So instead here’s a great Steven Wright line:

“I was at this restaurant. The sign said ‘Breakfast Anytime.’ So I ordered French Toast in the Renaissance.”

Yuck, yuck, yuck :-D

Have a great day :-D

6 responses to “Overnight Challah French Toast

  1. Steven Wright rules. If you haven’t seen it already, you should watch the Jim Jarmusch anthology movie “Coffee and Cigarettes.” The opening scene between Wright & Roberto Benigni is pretty hysterical.

    • I never heard of it. I’ll have to check it out. Just the thought of Steven Wright and Roberto Benigni together is funny! Maybe Don Corleone will watch it with me… Thanks for the suggestion!

      See, we got a movie reference in this post after all :-)

  2. I was just complaining how full I am from dinner and yet this recipe is still making me drool….

  3. Thanks for the honorable mention :)

Leave a Reply

