Tortilla Fruit Pizzas


"Keep your eye on the fruit." -Caddyshack II

I’m thinking Dan Akroyd had it right- the proper way to cut open a watermelon is to blow it up with a golf ball. I mean, it can’t be any messier than the usual way, can it? You could just have the kids stand around the watermelon with their mouths open, waiting for pieces to fly in. It could work.

But this is perhaps a neater way to eat fruit.

I wrote this recipe out for 1 tortilla, but it is very easy to make as many as you like. I made six, one for each of us, for lunch. This is a great recipe for getting the kids involved. You can put the fruit out in bowls, and let everyone “decorate” their own pizza. I didn’t do that, though. I said, “Go away, I’m making lunch.”

But next time, I promise to let them help. Cross my heart.

Tortilla Fruit Pizzas

  • 1 small flour tortilla
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • cut up pieces of fruit
  • 1/2 tsp honey

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425˚
  2. Place tortilla on a cookie sheet. Spray with cooking spray. Sprinkle brown sugar and cinnamon on top. Bake in preheated oven for 5-7 minutes, or until crispy and starting to turn light brown.
  3. Arrange fruit pieces on top. Drizzle with honey. Cut tortillas into pieces, pizza-style, and serve.

Click here for printable

Tortilla Fruit Pizza

Use any fruit you have available. I happened to have kiwi, nectarines, plums, and cherries that I was trying to use up. This would be good loaded with summer berries, and perhaps a dollop of whipped cream. Or in the fall, with different kinds of apples and more cinnamon sprinkled on top. Use your imagination!

The Critics really liked these sweet little pizzas. I made Sarah Crewe‘s without the honey, because she doesn’t like it. Everyone else gave me lots of “Mmmmm”s and “This is so good!” and asked for seconds, even though there weren’t any.

So, even if exploding golf balls aren’t your preferred method of chopping fruit, you can still have a little fun with your fruit this summer. And make your Critics very happy :-D

 

This post is linked up at Designs by Gollum and Momtrends Friday Food.

3 responses to “Tortilla Fruit Pizzas

  1. Yum! What a pretty pizza! I like your style: “Go away. I’m making lunch.” Ha!

  2. what a creative idea!

Leave a Reply

