Sun Pancakes

I don’t really like to trash talk on the internet. I try to to keep things fairly amicable around here. But today I’m going to trash talk. I’m going to trash talk someone that you all know and probably adore.

He’s the life of the party. Everyone loves him. He’s all bright and cheery, hanging around all cool-like, with his sunglasses and his giant smile. All he has to do is peek his little head out and people everywhere gravitate toward him. He’ll wrap you in a warm embrace or brighten your day with his cheery disposition.

Unless…

Bela Lugosi as Dracula

Well, unless you’re this guy.

Or me.

I’m talking about the Sun. What I ever did to him, I’ll never know.  But he hates me.

The Heartbreak Kid

We just got back from a trip to the beach. The first day, I slathered myself in SPF 50, covered up head to toe, and sat on the beach for a mere 2 hours. I still managed to get a sunburn. Story of my life.

I get a sunburn if I even think about the sun too hard. In fact, I’m getting burnt right now.

Sure, everybody loves the sun. But what has it ever done for me?

Summer Rental

Oh, sure, energy and vitamin D and photosynthesis and all that. Whatever.

Whenever I talk about the weather with people, I always pretend I’m in the Sunshine Lover’s Club.

“Oh it’s supposed to rain tomorrow? Darn!”

“Yes, it is great that the sun is finally out!”

“Oh joy! You’re telling me that it’s going to be sunny for the rest of the week?!? Wowzers that makes me so GLAD!”

I sing Oh Mister Sun and You are My Sunshine to my kids, sometimes even with a ukulele. They know Here Comes the Sun and Let the Sunshine In. I can even muster up a hearty chuckle when those Jimmy Dean breakfast commercials come on tv.

But it’s all a lie. A big, fat, gray-skied, cloudy lie. Because warm weather and sunshine make me kind of grumpy. There, I said it.

2. Justin Bartha, The Hangover (2009)

The Hangover

But enough trash talk… how about some yummy Sun Pancakes?

This is the pancake recipe I use.

Sun pancake

The suns vary, depending on the ingredients I have on hand. I like to do strawberries for the rays, or canned mandarin oranges. But the faces are always different. Sometimes I use blueberries or raisins for the eyes, and dried cranberries for the mouth. Chocolate chips make a frequent appearance. This was a lucky day for the Critics because they got whipped cream!

The Critics love these. Usually Don Corleone is the pancake maker in our house. But occasionally the kids ask specifically for sun pancakes. And I’m happy to oblige, even though… you know. They represent my archenemy.

I try to enjoy the sun, I really do. But I’ve also come to terms with the fact that I am, at heart, a rainy day kind of girl. Clouds and rain in the forecast make me smile. That’s just the way it is.

And I’ll spend the rest of my life searching for SPF 5000 sunscreen.

9 responses to “Sun Pancakes

  1. Great post!! Keep them coming as you have been missed!!!

  2. Haha! Don’t worry, I don’t think you’re alone, mamasita. I love the sun…but I, too, burn like crazy. Part of this Irish girl’s heritage, I suppose.
    Also, with two girlfriends who are melanoma survivors, it’s important to have a healthy respect for that big ‘ol fireball of the sky.

  3. My skin does okay with the sun but he’s found another way to torment me – when it’s too bright out, he blesses me with massive headaches. Maybe that’s why I like London so much. The sun seems to be allergic to the Brits and stays away.

    Hope you find that SPF5000. My husband is Irish and he has yet to find an effective sunscreen.

  4. Yummy Pancakes!!

  5. So excited for this post!!! Can I put in my request for your variation on cake pops? My sister raved about your 4th of July variation and I have a baby shower coming up!

  6. WOOHOOO!! NEW POST!!! AND I’M ONLY…..2 mos late!

    Cutest pancakes ever! And GF I can relate to the sunburn. Truth be told, I am a sun lover but man oh man do I burn like a lobstah. Give me 10 minutes and I’m like a newspaper. Red all over. (Groan.)

    MISSED YOU!!!

Leave a Reply

