Chipotle Pork Chimichangas

So, what do I do with all that leftover pork and sauerkraut that my kids wouldn’t eat? Make chimichangas, of course!

I’ve never made chimichangas before, but I do enjoy saying chimichangas.

Chimi-CHAN-gas!

"Do you have anything here besides Mexican food?" -The Three Amigos

 

Ingredients:

Note: The onions, peppers, and brown sugar are enough for 2 chimichangas. I didn’t give this mixture to the kids, because it’s very spicy. They had theirs with plain pork.

about 2 cups cooked pork, chopped or in strips
olive oil
2 medium onions, sliced thin
1 tbsp chipotle peppers in adobo sauce
2 tbsp brown sugar
6 large, burrito size tortillas (or 1 per person)
1/3- 1/2 cup refried beans
3/4 cup shredded Mexican cheese
1/2 cup cooked rice (I happened to have leftover rice in the fridge. I probably wouldn’t have cooked rice just for this recipe).
canola oil for frying
Lettuce, sour cream, enchilada sauce, salsa… whatever toppings you like

Directions:

Saute onions in olive oil for about 15 minutes, or until very soft. Add chipotle pepper and brown sugar and continue sauteing for another 5 minutes or until the onions are as done as you like. We like ours very well done. Add the pork and heat through.

Warm tortillas up a little so they’re softer and easier to handle. Spread about 1 tablespoon of refried beans in the center of each tortilla. Top with about 1/4 cup of the pork mixture. Add 1-2 tablespoons cheese, and a little rice. These measurements are flexible. Add more or less as you see fit.

Fold up the bottom of each tortilla, then the sides (nice and tight, like you’re swaddling a cute little newborn instead of a spicy chimichanga) and finally fold down the top.

Heat canola oil in a deep frying pan. I didn’t measure how much. Maybe 1/2 cup? Gently place 2 tortillas at a time into the pan, folds facing down. Fry a few minutes on each side, or until as done as you like. Carefully remove from the pan and drain on a plate lined with a paper towel. Serve on a bed of lettuce with sour cream and enchilada sauce or salsa.

Chimi-CHAN-ga

“I like these guys. They are funny guys! Just kill one of them.” -The Three Amigos

So a chimichanga is basically a burrito fried in oil. Everything is made better by frying it in oil. I’m not sure how this meal fit into my New Year’s Resolution to finally lose that baby(ies) weight, but that’s another topic for another day!

"IN-famous is when you're more than famous." -The Three Amigos

In case you’re wondering, I did try to remove all traces of sauerkraut from the pork before making this recipe. That’s why I did the chipotle… I wanted to try to mask the sauerkraut as much as possible! I think it worked. It really transformed the meat.

"No! We will not die like dogs! We will fight like lions!" -The Three Amigos

I really liked this dinner a lot, and so did “Don Vito Corleone.” He said it was amazing. Cool! Here’s what the rest of the gang thought:

Sarah Crewe: “This is pretty good. It’s kind of like a taco. I like it.”

Batman (whose chimichanga was made without cheese… I’m the best mom!): “It’s pretty good, even though I think I taste some cheese.”

Curious George: “Wow, Mommy, you made this recipe up?” Then… “I’m sorry, Mommy, but I don’t really like it.”

Elmo ate a few bites and then cried. A lot. And then went to bed early because her Mommy really, really needed her to.

Well, since “Elmo” actually did eat a few bites before crying (honestly, the crying had nothing to do with the food. She was soooo tired!), I consider that at least one thumb up. So, 4 out of 5 of my critics liked it! I consider that a highly successful meal!


And… here are some other movies that make me want to eat Mexican food:

“It’s like a fellow I once knew in El Paso. One day, he just took all his clothes off and jumped in a mess of cactus. I asked him that same question, ‘Why?'” He said, “It seemed to be a good idea at the time.”-The Magnificent Seven

“You see, in this world there’s two kinds of people, my friend: Those with loaded guns and those who dig. You dig.” -The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

“Any more lip out of you and I’ll haul off and let you have it. If you know what’s good for you, you won’t monkey around with Fred C. Dobbs.” -Treasure of the Sierra Madre

What movies make you want to eat Mexican?

4 responses to “Chipotle Pork Chimichangas

  1. Wow- sounds like you have your hands FULL with all those critics!
    What movie makes me want to eat Mexican??
    “One Eyed Jacks” SWOON 🙂

  2. Jess Blankenbiller

    great blog, I’m so impressed w/ your ambition!!! And I just LOVE your dinner plate. You’ve got style!! : )

Leave a Reply

