Easy Crockpot Chicken Cacciatore

One time I took a package of boneless chicken breasts out of the freezer, dropped the whole frozen block into the crockpot, dumped a jar of pasta sauce over it, and cooked it all day. My husband STILL talks about how good that meal was. Go figure! No more slaving away at a hot stove all day for me!

I made the same meal tonight, but decided to fancy it up a bit for the blog. And by “fancy it up,” I mean I added a pepper and an onion. I know, I know! But before you go calling Giada to suggest I do a regular guest spot on her show, let’s wait and see how it turns out!

Ingredients:
4 boneless chicken breasts
24 oz jar of pasta sauce
1 medium onion, sliced
1 green bell pepper, sliced
1/2 tsp. garlic powder

Directions:
Put everything in the slow cooker and cook for 6-8 hours on low.

Phew! I need a rest from all that typing. You probably need one, too, from all that reading. Grab a glass of wine and I’ll meet you back here in a few.

That’s better. Now, I should mention a few things. When the chicken is finished cooking, shred it into pieces and serve over pasta, or rice if you’re a weirdo (Just kidding about the weirdo part… I just don’t like rice, myself). While the pasta is cooking, play your favorite Dean Martin CD. It’s crucial to the cooking process. If you don’t have a favorite Dean Martin CD, I suppose Frank will have to do. And if you don’t have a Frank Sinatra CD, then what is wrong with you? (just kidding, again. Gee, am I making friends yet?)

Crockpot Chicken Cacciatore

Oh, and one other thing. Whatever you do, DO NOT tell this guy that I used sauce from a jar!

I don’t want to have to sleep with the fishes tonight!

 

Okay, so what did the critics think?

Well, two of the five critics don’t like tomato sauce at all. They agree with this guy:

But amazingly enough, they ate their miniscule bit of chicken that I gave them without complaint. Their thoughts:

Sarah Crewe: “Well… it’s okay”

Curious George: “I didn’t really like it Mommy” But he did eat his weight in plain spaghetti. As I was cooking, he walked in and said, “Mommy, my amazing sense of smell tells me we are having pasta for dinner!”

And the other, sauce-loving critics:

Batman: “This is GREAT!!!”

Don Corleone: “This chicken did not die in vain.”

and finally,

Elmo: “WAAAUGH!!” And then, too, ate her weight in spaghetti.

Oh, and for dessert, we had Slow Cooker Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Cake. I didn’t have to ask the critics what they thought of that. As the Dessert Hush fell over the table, I could tell it pleased them greatly.

Buona Notte!

Oh, and by the way, I wouldn’t want to work with Giada, anyway. I wouldn’t want her to be intimidated by my beauty 😉

 

 

8 responses to “Easy Crockpot Chicken Cacciatore

  1. Sounds tasty. This one made me actually laugh out loud. You’re funny.

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog today. Your blog is hilarious and I LOVE the movie lines. Too funny!

  3. It looks yummy. And Mrs. J, is right you are funny.

  4. So let me get this straight, you had not one, but two crockpots going at the same time?! Giada’s got nothing on you, that’s awesome! It all sounds good to me. 🙂

  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love crockpot recipes! It makes cooking so simple especially when using semi-homemade ingredients!

Leave a Reply

