A Feast Fit for a Muppet

Dinner and a Movie

For my first Dinner and a Movie post, hubby and I decided to show The Muppet Movie. The kids have seen some of the other Muppet movies, but not the original one, and we thought it was high time they see it.

Statler: Private Screening? Waldorf: Yeah, they're afraid to show it in public!

 

The Menu

Kermit’s Frog Eye Pasta Salad

Miss Piggy-in-Blankets

(Doctor Bunson) Honeydew Melon

Gonzo’s Blue Jello with Swedish (Chef) Fish

Fozzie Navels

Kermit: Gonzo, what are you doing? Gonzo: About seven knots!

Let’s start with the pasta salad. Apparently Frog Eye Pasta Salad is a real thing. When I googled “frog foods” to get some ideas (I wasn’t about to try frog legs… no Doc Hopper am I!) lots of hits came up for this salad.

Frog Eye Pasta Salad

I tried this one from allrecipes.com:

Ingredients

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 3/4 cups unsweetened pineapple juice
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 3 quarts water
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 (16 ounce) package acini di pepe pasta
  • 3 (11 ounce) cans mandarin oranges, drained
  • 2 (20 ounce) cans pineapple tidbits, drained
  • 1 (20 ounce) can crushed pineapple, drained
  • 1 (8 ounce) container frozen whipped topping, thawed
  • 1 cup miniature marshmallows
  • 1 cup shredded coconut

Directions

  1. In a sauce pan, combine sugar, flour, 1/2 teaspoon salt, pineapple juice and eggs. Stir and cook over medium heat until thickened. Remove from heat; add lemon juice and cool to room temperature.
  2. Bring water to a boil, add oil, remaining salt and cook pasta until al dente. Rinse under cold water and drain.
  3. In a large bowl, combine the pasta, egg mixture, mandarin oranges, pineapple and whipped topping. Mix well and refrigerate overnight or until chilled. Before serving add marshmallows and coconut. Toss and serve.

Ummm… I’m not sure how to describe this salad. It’s a strange mixture of fruit, pudding, sugar, and… pasta. Yes, pasta. My first thought was, “Well, at least the kids will like it.” My husband said it was okay, but then when I added the coconut he said he really liked it. Something about the texture of the coconut masking the weirdness of the pasta. But the kids? Well, see for yourself:

Sarah Crewe: “Ummm… I guess it’s good.”

Batman: “This salad is really good. But… you gave me too much.”

George: “This tastes sort of… creamy.”
(I could tell by the apologetic look on his face and tone in his voice that “creamy” was clearly not a good thing).

I’m pretty sure “Elmo” didn’t touch it at all.

So, even when I hand them a bowl of sugar for dinner, they are still not happy. Ah, well what’s a mom to do?

Fozzie: "They don't look like Presbyterians to me."

Next, the Miss Piggy-in-blankets. Sorry, Piggy, it’s nothing personal. It’s just that you’re so darn delicious! To quote the great Homer Simpson, “If God didn’t want us to eat animals, then why did he make them out of meat?”

Pigs in Blankets

I used little cocktail weinies and Pillsbury crescent rolls (cut into smaller pieces). The verdict? “Sarah Crewe” loved them, “Curious George” ate them but didn’t seem too impressed, “Batman” loved them, but especially loved the “pigs” and “Elmo” ate the blankets. (And so between the two, you see, they licked their platters clean, haha!)

Chef: Gersh gurndy morn-dee burn-dee, burn-dee, flip-flip-flip-flip-flip-flip-flip-flip-flip.

The kids had the most fun with dessert. Really???? But that’s soooo unusual!!! (She says with a slightly sarcastic tone).

 

Blue Jello with Swedish (Chef) Fish

Oh, and my husband made the kids Fozzie Navels, which have absolutely nothing to do with Fuzzy Navels, except that they were garnished with an orange slice. I wanted to make them a special drink, and I wanted to use Fozzie somehow, because I love Fozzie, so I named it a Fozzie Navel. I don’t even remember what was in it.

Uh-oh. I thought it was virgin. Hmmm… no wonder the kids were acting all loopy!

Kermit: Bear left. Fozzie: Right, frog!

Just kidding! Wacka, wacka! It was just root beer and grenadine. And an orange slice. I had a plain old root beer, which “Elmo” later picked up and tried to drink and spilled  all over herself and a basket of toys. Sigh.

Kermit: You may serve us now, please. Waiter: Oh... may I?

The drinks may have been virgin, but I will say, that whoever does not believe in the age old phenomenon known as the Sugar Rush, has obviously not seen my kids after eating a dinner consisting mostly of sugar. Whoa, baby! The littlest one was dancing and singing for a good 20 minutes before she crashed! It was really very entertaining!

 

Our centerpiece

The kids table... Thank goodness for paper plates, right?

Oh, I almost forgot. How did the kids like the movie? Hmmm… not as much as my husband and I did when we were kids. Maybe it’s a generational thing? Maybe they’re too young to appreciate the humor? Maybe they, like Gonzo, are weirdos? I’m sure that’s it.

Although, when I said that it sure seemed like they liked it; they were all watching attentively, my four-year-old, rather indignantly, replied, “Mommy! We were NOT watching attentively! I don’t even know what ‘attentively’ means!”

Humph. I stand corrected.

Life's like a movie, write your own ending. Keep believing, keep pretending...

Well, folks, that’s it for this edition of “Dinner and a Movie.” Join me next time as we…

Oh, who am I kidding? I barely know what’s happening tomorrow, let alone what the next Dinner and a Movie will be! It will be a surprise to us all!

Animal: Go home! Go home! Bye-bye!

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “A Feast Fit for a Muppet

  1. Too cute!

  2. Very Cute! You are so creative! This was my favorite post yet!

Leave a Reply

