Baked Mediterranean Flounder

I don’t know why fish gets such a bad rap in my house. Maybe it’s because the first movie that we had to play again and again for our kids was Finding Nemo. I can still hear my now-8-year-old daughter in her sweet little 2-year-old voice: “Ne-no! Ne-no! Yaaaay, Ne-no!”

"Fish are friends, not food." -Finding Nemo

Of course, it hasn’t stopped all the boys in my house from wanting to spend every waking moment fishing (well, every moment that they’re not playing Star Wars Lego on the wii, that is).

"In my family, there was no clear line between religion and fly fishing." -A River Runs Through It

Whatever the reason, the news that we are having fish for dinner is almost always met with, “awwww… Oh, wait, do I like fish?”

"He was an old man who fished alone in a skiff in the Gulf Stream and he had gone eighty-four days now without taking a fish." -The Old Man and the Sea

I really love this meditterranean flounder. It’s so easy, and very tasty.

Ingredients:

1 medium onion, sliced

1 green pepper, sliced (or a combo of different peppers)

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp. Italian seasoning

2 TBSP olive oil, divided

3 large flounder fillets

1/2 cup kalamata olives

1/2-1 cup chopped tomatoes (or canned diced tomatoes)

grated Parmesan cheese, for serving

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 F.

Heat 1 TBSP olive oil over medium-high heat. Add peppers and onions and cook for about 2-3 minutes, until soft. Add garlic and Italian seasoning and cook for another minute.

Place flounder in a 9×13-inch baking dish. Top with pepper mixture. Add olives and tomatoes, and drizzle with remaining olive oil.

Bake for about 15-20 minutes, or until fish flakes easily with a fork. Serve over angel hair pasta and sprinkle with grated Parmesan cheese.

Enjoy!

Baked Mediterranean Flounder

I served this with a spinach salad with dried cranberries, feta cheese, chopped walnuts, and balsamic vinaigrette.

"I always find the fish. Always!" -The Perfect Storm

Okay, critics. What say you?

Don Corleone: “It’s swimming with flavor.” (Insert groan here)

Sarah Crewe: “I kind of like it. Well, not really.” (She tries so hard to be diplomatic!)

Batman: “I like it! It’s really good”

Curious George: “I’m sorry, Mommy. I just don’t like it.” (At least he is apologetic about it! What nice manners!)

And, amazingly enough, my littlest one, Elmo, actually ate it. Wow, something she likes! Don’t worry, I will refrain from making it every single day.

"You're gonna need a bigger boat." -Jaws

So, it goes much like every other meal. The search for that one perfect meal continues. I know it’s out there.

“… to the last I grapple with thee; from hell’s heart I stab at thee; for hate’s sake I spit my last breath at thee.” -Moby Dick

"Is it real? Do you see it, too?" "We all see it. That don't make it real." -Moby Dick


One response to “Baked Mediterranean Flounder

  1. Looks Yummy

Leave a Reply

