Baked Feta Chicken

It’s Oscar time! Yay!

Can I just tell you how much I loved The King’s Speech? LOVED it!  It stars Colin Firth. And really, that’s all you need to know.

It was very, very good. You should go see it. Don’t listen to my husband. It’s absurd to think that a movie should have a “Do not watch this film while operating heavy machinery” warning, anyway!

I also really loved True Grit. The Dude is no Duke (and he’s no Colin Firth, though adorable in his own way), but it was still very, very good.

And that’s about the extent of my 2011 Oscar knowledge. Black Swan scares me. Inception confuses me. The Kids are All Right is still in the netflix envelope on the shelf. The Social Network doesn’t interest me… or maybe it’ll be a rental. The Fighter does intrigue me. I do like Mark Wahlberg & Amy Adams. And I never heard of the others.

Of course, I’d be willing to go see pretty much anything if you offer to babysit my kids for the night 😀

Oh, I forgot one. Toy Story 3.

We took the kids to the drive-in to see it. We all loved it. And, naturally, since I have small children, I wept throughout the ending. It’s the fault of Toy Story 2 that I secretly apologize to all the unwanted toys that get tossed into the Purple Heart donation bag. And now I get weepy whenever my kids outgrow a toy, and my mind immediately fast-forwards to sending them off to college. Sans toys. And then I go find the too-big child and give them a big hug and beg them to stop growing up so fast. And then eventually give into their cries of “Mommy! Stop it!” and go make dinner.

Phew! That was an emotional movie!

Okay, so in tribute to the Oscar nominations being out, I will insert the name of every Best Picture nominee into this post somehow.

Okay, the chicken. This is a kid-friendly recipe, almost like a Toy Story. 3 ingredients that I used were chicken, bread crumbs, and feta cheese.

Ahem…

Baked Feta Chicken

Baked Feta Chicken

  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut in half horizontally
  • 2 TBSP olive oil
  • 1/2 c. bread crumbs
  • 1 tsp. oregano
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 3 plum tomatoes, sliced
  • 1/4 c. feta cheese, crumbled

Preheat oven to 350. Spray bottom of 9×13-inch baking dish with cooking spray.  Mix together bread crumbs, oregano, and pepper. Dip the chicken breasts into the olive oil, then dredge in bread crumb mixture. Place chicken in the baking dish. Top with tomatoes and feta cheese. Bake in preheated oven for about 20-25 minutes, or until chicken is done.

Yup, it only takes 25 minutes. Not 127 Hours. Which is good.

I served it over- you guessed it- pasta. I promise my next recipe will not involve pasta! I thought it was really yummy. I think I would have liked more bread crumbs, but my family actually ate it like this, so I guess I won’t mess with it! It’s true, they all ate it! The Kids Are All Right! Here’s what they said:

Sarah Crewe: “I believe that the chicken is okay, the pasta is good, and the tomatoes are bad.

Don Corleone: The pasta, chicken, and tomato is the finest trio since the Three Stooges. Not as funny, but much tastier.

Batman: This dinner gets 5 stars!

Curious George: I like the chicken, I like the pasta, but I don’t like the tomato. The tomato gets one star, the pasta and chicken get 4 stars.

Elmo held up her plate and said, “No! No! No!” but then I separated the chicken from the pasta and she ate every bite of chicken, plus 2 more helpings.

They are such hams when they know I’m going to write down what they think of dinner! They practically write a King’s Speech every time!

The pasta was thin spaghetti with an olive oil and herb dressing. When my four-year-old (Curious George) first saw it, he said, “My pasta’s dirty!”  Which I suppose is why he segregated his dinner.

Separation of chicken and pasta

Still, they had True Grit, and they ate it all.

I’m sorry for that one.

And for what’s coming up.

You see how I am a Fighter and keep hanging in there to find new recipes? I search the web, Social Networks, and try not to take a (Black) Swan dive off my kitchen counter every time one fails. But, really, since the Inception of family dinners, haven’t all moms gone through the same thing?

Next recipe will be something that will warm you up when you are chilled to the Winter’s Bone.

And now I will hit “Publish” and go hang my head in shame…

Oh, before I go, I watched The Kids are all Right last night. Best Picture? Really? It was well acted, yes. It was somewhat interesting. But Best Picture?

Okay, back to shame…

7 responses to “Baked Feta Chicken

  1. Come out of your “shame” mode, its not your fault there weren’t better movie titles to work with 🙂 I may actually try that chicken, looks yummy. I will not have “Dirty pasta” with it, lol!

  2. Don’t get me wrong I’m a pasta lover (dirty or clean) I just thought it was funny your critic said it was dirty.

  3. Finally got a chance to check in. I love this new site of yours. I still get cna’t get my 18 year old to eat much more then “kid food”. Maybe I should snd her to your house to check out some great food and perhaps she’ll take an interenst in learning to cook while she’s there. LOL

  4. Wow, if only I could type. Type errors should be cna’t-can’t
    snd-send interenst-interest. Yes I really do know how to spell just can’t type. LOL

  5. A great family dish with simple tasty ingredients. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

