Use the Fork, Luke!

My kids have been asking to watch Return of the Jedi, so we decided to make a Dinner and a Movie out if it.

The Menu

Jabba the Hut Dogs
Vader Tots
Buffalo X-Wings (Fighters)
Yoda Soda
Obi-Wan Cannoli
Han Solo in Carbonite Jello

I had a lot of help from cyber-space for this menu, because, let’s face it, you put “Star Wars food ideas” into a search engine (heck, “Star Wars” anything), and you will have no shortage of reading material for as long as you live long and prosper.

(I know that’s not from Star Wars, but it’s the same group of people that rule the web, so I thought it would be okay. If slightly blasphemous.)

Is there any girl who grew up in the 80’s who didn’t wish they were Leia at this moment?

"Someone who loves you" -Return of the Jedi

Is there any guy who didn’t doesn’t fantasize about this image?

"We have powerful friends. You're going to regret this." -Return of the Jedi

Trust me, there isn’t. Google “Princess Leia Jabba.” You’ll see.

What’s that, you say? There’s a lot more to Return of the Jedi than kissing and gold bikinis? I know that! Of course I know that!

There’s big scary guys

darth-vader.jpg

and little scary guys.

There’s big furry guys

Chewbacca

and little furry guys.

Wicket the Ewok

And lots of shooting and light-sabering.

Return of the Jedi deleted scene shows Luke assembling new light saber

 

By the way, is the guy who played this fine fellow:

the same actor who played Dumb Donald in Fat Albert?

 

My favorite part of the meal was the Obi Wan Cannoli. Mmmmm… cannoli.

Help me, Obi Wan. You're my only cannoli.

I did not make these. We got them from the Italian market near my house. Is there anything better than the smell of an Italian market? It always makes me want a sandwich.

The kids enjoyed the Yoda Sodas, which was just Sprite and lime sherbert. My husband’s was served in his original 1977 Burger King Darth Vader glass.

Yumm... Tasty this is

And last but not least

He should be quite well protected. If he survived the gelling process, that is

Han Solo was (after being sterilized) placed into a tray of grape Jello. I do realize that this is not the right Han Solo figure, but do you have any idea how fast a toddler can lose an action figure?

I got a lot of ideas from The Ultimate Star Wars Party. And I’ll probably steal more if my boys decide they want a Star Wars birthday party this summer 🙂

My kids liked the movie, but they all agreed that the first movie (well, the real first movie, not the new first movie. The original one. You know what I mean) was the best one. I have to say that I really enjoyed re-watching Star Wars and The Empire Strikes Back, but I was actually kind of bored through this one. But apparently I am alone on that one. At one point I looked at my husband and mouthed, “I’m bored” and he looked back at me and said, “WHAAATT?!?!? Are you an IDIOT???”

Humph.

On a more positive (and slightly bragging) note, here are two Return of the Jedi pictures done by my 6-year-old.

Luke & Darth Vader

Luke & Jabba the Hut

Oh, and in case you were wondering, I found the other Han, just before we started the movie. He was in the seat cushions. I swear I looked there!

 

P.S. I’ve been informed that the image I used for Darth Vader above is not, in fact, from Return of the Jedi. I sincerely apologize, and hope that you do not hold this against me.

 

3 responses to “Use the Fork, Luke!

  1. very cute!

  2. lol, I like it!

  3. How fun!!
    My older son is like a walking encyclopedia of Star Wars knowledge- he will love this 🙂

Leave a Reply

