Everything Chicken

“Everything Chicken” is just like an Everything Bagel, but without your jammies and the Sunday paper.

I was uninspired as to what movie to tie in with “Everything Chicken,” so I chose a movie that really has nothing to do with the dish, but that I love and watched recently.

Back to the Future.

"Wait a minute, Doc. Ah... Are you telling me that you built a time machine... out of a DeLorean?"

When I was a kid, I was in love with Michael J. Fox. My bedroom walls were plastered with posters of him from Teen Beat. I cried actual tears when he married Tracey Pollan. Why? Did I really think I had a chance? I was fourteen!

Crispin Glover As George McFly In Back To The Future (1986)

"I'm George, George McFly. I'm your density. I mean... your destiny."

Anyway, I’m glad he married her, because if he had waited for me, then I never would have met my husband. And I think things turned out pretty well 🙂

Also, if I married Michael J. Fox then, who knows, I might never have discovered

Everything Chicken

(this recipe is from Rachael Ray)

  • 3 tablespoons dehydrated minced onion
  • 3 tablespoons garlic flakes
  • 3 tablespoons poppy seeds
  • 3 tablespoons sesame seeds
  • 2 tablespoons coarse black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 pounds boneless chicken breasts, cut into tenders or small pieces
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 brick cream cheese (8 ounces), softened
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 4 scallions, chopped
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 2 ribs celery from the heart with leafy tops, finely chopped

 

Pre-heat the oven to 375°F.

Place the minced onion, garlic flakes, poppy seeds, sesame seeds, black pepper and coarse salt on a plate and mix it together. Put the chicken pieces into a bowl and toss with the olive oil.

Dip each piece of chicken into the seed mixture and turn to coat. Repeat until all the chicken has been coated, then transfer to a baking sheet. Bake for 20-25 minutes, turning once about halfway through the cooking time.

While the chicken is cooking make the dipping sauce: in a bowl, combine the soft cream cheese with buttermilk until smooth. Stir in the vegetables and season with a little salt and pepper.

 

I usually halve the recipe for the dip, because my kids won’t eat it. But I think it’s one of the best parts of the meal!

I’m such a dingaling, I totally forgot to ask the critics for quotes for this recipe. But I can tell you that they always love it. I know, this is heavy!

"Hello? Hello? Anybody home? Huh? Think, McFly. Think!"

I’m also a dingaling because I didn’t remember to take a picture until the next day. So I’m sorry to say, I’m serving you a leftovers photo. Without the dip. Because Somebody ate it all! (Ahem, Self!)

 

Everything Chicken

And speaking of leftovers, this is the kind of dish that you might see in the fridge the next day when you’re getting out the peanut butter and jelly for lunch, and you take a piece. And then later when you’re getting your toddler some milk for her sippy cup, you see it in there again and you think, “Ooooh! Everything Chicken!” and you have another piece. And perhaps when your kids are asking for a snack after school you open the fridge, and the chicken says, “Hi there! Remember me?” and you have another piece.

Not that I do that. I’m just sayin’.

"Well, that is your name, isn't it? Calvin Klein? It's written all over your underwear."

 

I make this chicken a lot, because everyone likes it, it’s healthy (provided you go easy on the dip… AHEM, Self!), and it’s not too expensive, now that I started buying poppy seeds and sesame seeds in bulk from amazon. They store very well in the freezer, and they’re much cheaper than at the grocery store.

"I guess you guys aren't ready for that, yet. But your kids are gonna love it."

I usually serve this with potatoes that I cut into small pieces and toss with olive oil and salt and pepper, and bake in a 45oº oven for about 30 minutes, until very crispy. Also I serve carrot and celery sticks. Rachael Ray suggests red grapes as a side, and I think I’ll try that next time. Grapes don’t usually last too long in my house.

"Don't worry. As long as you hit that wire with the connecting hook at precisely 88mph the instant the lightning strikes the tower... everything will be fine."

Enjoy the chicken! Just don’t go for a drug test afterward! And don’t forget to floss!

 

 

 

4 responses to “Everything Chicken

  1. Sounds pretty tasty, dingaling!

    (PS. Try Option+Alt+8 for the degree sign. °

  2. This Chicken looks “heavy” …… ” Why are things so heavy in the future? Is there a problem with the earth’s gravitational pull?”….Doc
    lol, I love that move and the chicken looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

