Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Hello there! Happy President’s Day!

This post is going to require some audience participation. That’s right, you have some work to do.

Who do you think makes a great fictional movie president?

Harrison Ford, Air Force One

"GET OFF MY PLANE!"

Bill Pullman, Independence Day

"And should we win the day, the Fourth of July will no longer be known as an American holiday, but as the day the world declared in one voice: "We will not go quietly into the night!" We will not vanish without a fight! We're going to live on! We're going to survive! Today we celebrate our Independence Day!"

Kevin Kline, Dave

"Hail to the chief / He's the one we all say "Hail" to. / We all say "Hail" / 'Cause he keeps himself so clean! / He's got the power, / That's why he's in the shower..."

Morgan Freeman, Deep Impact

"Life will go on, we will prevail."

Peter Sellers, Dr. Strangelove

"The doomsday machine? What is that?" "A device which will destroy all human and animal life on earth."

Michael Douglas, The American President

"We had a nice couple of minutes together. She threatened me, I patronized her. Didn't have anything to eat, but I thought there was a connection."

Jack Nicholson, Mars Attacks!

"Why can't we work out our differences? Why can't we work things out? Little people, why can't we all just get along?"

Henry Fonda, Fail Safe

"Moscow's been destroyed. Drop your bombs according to plan."


Those are my suggestions. Who am I forgetting?

Oh, don’t worry, I have a recipe today, too.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 large onion, sliced into rings
  • 1 18-ounce bottle buffalo wing sauce
  • 1/4 cup sour cream

Put the chicken into the crockpot and top with onions. Pour the wing sauce over the top. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. For the last hour of cooking, shred the chicken and add the sour cream. Serve on whole wheat kaiser rolls with blue cheese and pickles.

 

Buffalo Chicken Sandwich

I only had one critic to comment on this recipe, because it was so spicy hot that I couldn’t give it to the kids. So they had turkey and cheese sandwiches instead. They were pleased.

The executive branch of the household loved it.

Wait, who am I kidding? Executive branch? Why, that would imply that my household is a democracy. Ha! I laugh in the face of democracy! No, sir, this home is a complete and total dictatorship! Yuppers, the infidels may kick and scream all they like, but there is only one two in charge here!

Anyway, the dictators loved it. It was deliciously spicy, but not so spicy that it was uncomfortable. I did not put blue cheese on mine, but instead had a side salad with blue cheese dressing. I will most certainly be making this again.

Oh, and one last thing. Since he’s a tv president and not a movie president, he’s not in the running, but he’s just so awesome that I thought honorable mention should go to Dennis Haysbert in 24.

"Listen to me. All of you. Take a good look. Do I seem scared? Am I breaking into a nervous sweat? Am I babbling? At a loss for words? Is my voice shaking? Can any one of you look me in the eye and tell me I'm disabled?"

So what do you think?

2 responses to “Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

  1. Well i have to agree with the kids.Turkey and cheese sandwich.I don”t like spicy foods. Im sorry but i like Harrison Ford.

  2. As I was ready this the whole time I kept thinking of the President from 24…..I’m so glad he got an honorable mention at the end! Best President Ever!

Leave a Reply

