Slow Cooker Rotisserie Chicken

I have a friend who is the kindest, sweetest person you could ever meet. She never has a bad word to say about anyone, even people she doesn’t know. Whenever a celebrity gets into trouble, she says, “Oh, that poor girl! She really needs help, it’s such a shame what happened to her.”

It makes me feel bad, because most likely, earlier in the day, I referred to that same celebrity as “jerk,” “idiot,” or the Bugs Bunny classic, “maroon.”

I haven’t talked to my friend yet about Charlie Sheen, but I’m certain she’d be somewhat sympathetic.

She is a much better person than I.

Charlie Sheen, what a mah-roon!

Remember Lucas? He was so dreamy in that movie.  And he was nice.  It wasn’t his fault that Maggie liked him and not Lucas. Corey Haim (may he rest in peace) never stood a chance.

"Are you interested in being kissed?"

So, anyway, enough about Charlie Sheen. Seriously! Enough about Charlie Sheen already!

This slow cooker chicken is really, really good. I will probably never roast a chicken in the oven again. It’s so much easier to plop it in the crockpot in the morning and then forget about it, instead of having to carve out several hours in the afternoon to watch it in the oven.

Did you like how I used the word “carve” when talking about a chicken? The word popped into my head, and for the life of me, I just couldn’t think of any other word.

"Either you're an athlete or you're not an athlete."

Slow Cooker Rotisserie Chicken

This recipe is from crockpot365.blogspot.com

  • 1 whole chicken, 4-5 pounds
  • 2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 4 whole garlic cloves
  • 1 onion, peeled and quartered
  1. Skin the chicken and discard all the yucky stuff from the cavity.
  2. Combine all of the spices in a small bowl and rub all over the chicken, inside and out. I only do out. I just can’t put my hand inside that chicken and rub spices in there. I just can’t.  Put the garlic and onion pieces inside the bird. Place the whole thing, breast side down, into the crockpot.
  3. Cover and cook on high for 4-5 hours or on low for 8 hours.

Slow Cooker Rotisserie Chicken

Sometimes I make this and we eat it with traditional sides, like stuffing and mashed potatoes. But it’s also good to just carve the chicken and use the pieces in another recipe. Last night we had chicken tacos, and tonight we had fettucine alfredo with shredded chicken.

"You can't ever make me quit, EVER!"

Wow, I got soooo many compliments from the critics when they saw the chicken! Curious George thought it looked “so good” and said “I am definitely going to eat my dinner tonight!” And I’m pretty sure Don Corleone was salivating when he came home from work and saw it sitting on the counter, ready to be carved.

Sun-dried tomato alfredo sauce

Fettucini Alfredo with Chicken

 

This is what they thought of the fettucine alfredo (just used a jar of sauce, nothing fancy).

Don Corleone: It’s good!

Sarah Crewe: I think it is pretty good.

Batman: I like it. It’s deliciously good!

Curious George: I kind of don’t like it. It sort of tastes like pizza, but I don’t like it.

Elmo ate three helpings, so I’d say that’s a “good” as well!

"Not everybody has to be beautiful to have someone fall in love with them."

Look at little Winona Ryder in her very first movie! Now she’s all grown up and shoplifting just like a big girl.

Boy, the things my friend could say about the stars of this movie!

Happy Cooking 😀

13 responses to “Slow Cooker Rotisserie Chicken

  1. Sam,

    You rock!! Love you!! Love this blog, and yes, Charlie Sheen, God Bless him!

  2. I’ll defiantly try this one sometime. I like the idea of making the chicken and using it for different things through the week! We usually make one recipe and then eat the leftovers the same way all week. Tasty, but it gets old by Wednesday.

  3. slam sam, you crack me up! so you just put the chicken in – no liquids??? doesn’t it dry out? does this work with chicken parts or just whole chickens? what about giant hams? whenever i make crockpot chicken, any parts not submersed in liquid gets all dried and rubbery.

    • Nope, no liquids, Jinny Jam. It doesn’t dry out at all. It might not work with boneless chicken, but I would think that it would be the same result with chicken parts that haven’t been de-boned. I think chicken with bones in tend to be juicier anyway, while boneless breasts dry out quickly. And yes, I DO make giant ham in the crockpot, and I think of you every time 🙂

  4. This sounds great! I never thought of roasting a whole chicken in my crock pot (but then again, my crock pot is generally underutilized.) I agree with you in not wanting to rub your hands inside the cavity, but I do always stuff mine with herbs – just shake them in there and let them do their thing.

  5. Jennifer Elizabeth

    Love the Blog!! Jessica Robin is the friend you must be referring to!! I can’t wait to keep reading!

  6. WOW! Tried the chicken in the crock pot for our Sunday dinner tonight and it was DELICIOUS!!!! I am sorry but I am also stealing your idea and using the leftovers to make alfredo chicken pasta tomorrow night…You are really on to something here…Perhaps I may never have to think about what I will make for dinner again!!! I especially like dinners where I can get two meals out of one! THANKS! : )

  7. This sounds delish! Always looking for fast and easy crock pot recipes. Can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

