Easy Hot and Sour Soup

Did you know that March is Music in Our Schools Month?

Did you know that students who study music generally perform higher on their SATs than those who don’t?

Did you know that students who study music generally hold a higher GPA than those who don’t?

Did you know that schools that produce the highest academic achievement spend about 20-30% of the day on the arts, with special emphasis on music?

Did you know studies show that students doing poorly academically caught up to, and even surpassed their fellow students in reading and math when given music lessons for seven months?

Did you know that high school students who are in band or orchestra are less likely to use drugs and alcohol?

Ouch!!!

Oops, sorry, just tripped while getting off my soapbox 😉

All of the facts above can be found at:  http://www.mpsaz.org/rhodes/staff/krkuczynski/6th/files/musicfacts.pdf

Yes, it’s true, music education is extremely important. Do you know what else is extremely important? Movie musicals! Like The Sound of Music!

One of the first times we went out, my husband (who was then just a cute college boy I liked) and I were going for a walk, and ended up at a gazebo in a park near our college. There we shared our first kiss, and I said, “This is just like in The Sound of Music” and he said, “I never saw that movie.”

I couldn’t believe it. Don’t worry, he has seen it quite a few times since, and really likes it a lot! (Really!)

"There were times when we would look at each other... I could hardly breathe."

I’m pretty sure this is exactly what we looked like that night back in  college 🙂

Easy Hot and Sour Soup

  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup pork, cooked and diced
  • 8 oz. mushrooms, sliced or diced
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes*
  • 1 can bamboo shoots, drained
  • 1 can sliced water chestnuts, drained
  • scallions, sliced, for serving

*We like our soup really hot. You might want to start with 1/4 tsp and add more later.

Directions:

  1. Bring broth to a boil in a medium saucepan. Lower heat to a simmer.
  2. Add pork and mushrooms and cook for about 10 minutes.
  3. While simmering, combine oil, soy sauce, vinegar, and red pepper flakes in a small bowl. Add to broth.
  4. Add bamboo shoots and water chestnuts and cook for about another 10-15 minutes, or until heated through.
  5. Garnish with green onions.

Hot and Sour Soup

Don Corleone and I really love this soup.  I usually make it for lunch for us.  One time I asked the kids if they wanted to try it, and they politely declined.  It’s okay, it’s pretty hot, so I wasn’t going to make them eat it.  Plus, it’s nice to eat lunch without hearing, “How come you get to have that and we don’t???”

"Silver white winters that melt into springs/ These are a few of my favorite things"

"You brought music back into the house. I had forgotten."

"Oh, there's nothing wrong with the children. Only the governesses."

"Do, a deer, a female deer/Re, a drop of golden sun..."

"My fellow Austrians, I shall not be seeing you again perhaps for a very long time. I would like to sing for you now... a love song. I know you share this love. I pray that you will never let it die."

Wow, it was really hard to narrow down images from this movie!

"The hills are alive with the sound of music"

And finally…

People are weird:

And last but not least… Nothing says hilarity like a cat in a Julie Andrews pose:

Happy Music in Our Schools Month 😀

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Easy Hot and Sour Soup

  1. I love hot and sour soup! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  2. I love hot and sour soup but I have never made it. Thanks for the recipe.

    “I feel a recipe is only a theme, which an intelligent cook can play each time with a variation.”
    – Madame Benoit

  3. wonderful facts about music; I agree that it is such a healthy thing for students, from the youngest ages! also thanks for reminding me of the Sound of Music – I grew up on that film & have always loved it. The soup looks wonderful; I’ve never made hot & sour soup but this looks great!

Leave a Reply

