Pasta with Chicken Sausage and Spinach

Today we mourn the loss of an icon.  Elizabeth Taylor died today at age 79.

National Velvet

"I want it all quickly 'cause I don't want God to stop and think and wonder if I'm getting more than my share." -National Velvet

I wish I could write an obituary to honor her, but I wouldn’t be able to do her justice. I’ll just share some pictures instead:

"You fathers will understand. You have a little girl. She looks up to you. You're her oracle. You're her hero. And then the day comes when she gets her first permanent wave and goes to her first real party, and from that day on, you're in a constant state of panic." -Father of the Bride

"Seems like we always spend the best part of our time just saying goodbye." -A Place in the Sun

"Maggie the cat is alive. I'm alive." -Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

"There are never enough hours in the days of a queen, and her nights have too many." -Cleopatra

"I'm loud and I'm vulgar, and I wear the pants in the house because somebody's got to, but I am not a monster. I'm not." -Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf

"Why, there's a wench! Come on and kiss me, Kate." -Taming of the Shrew

Well, you know what they say. When you are mourning a Hollywood legend, the best thing to do is to eat lots of pasta.

They do say that, right?

Pasta with Chicken Sausage and Spinach

  • 1 lb pasta, any variety (I used spaghetti)
  • 4 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 5 chicken sausages, sliced (I used garlic flavor)
  • 3/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1 6-oz package baby spinach
  • 2 tbsp garlic & basil flavored vinegar (see note)*
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Cook and drain pasta according to package directions.
  2. Heat 2 tbsp olive oil in a large pan over medium-high heat. Add chicken sausage and saute for about 5 minutes, or until sausage is browned.
  3. Stir in sun-dried tomatoes. Cook for 1 minute.
  4. Add spinach and cook for 1-2 minutes, or until spinach wilts. Remove from heat.
  5. Add pasta to pan and top with remaining olive oil, vinegar, salt, and pepper. Toss well.

*A few notes: One of my husband’s students gave him homemade garlic & basil flavored vinegar for Christmas, so that’s what I used. It was fabulous in this dish. If you have a flavored vinegar that you think would work, then by all means, go for it. If not, I would suggest red wine vinegar. Don’t be afraid to play around with the flavors to see what you would like.

A second note: I used dried sun-dried tomatoes. If you use tomatoes packed in oil, drain them, and then cut back on the olive oil a bit in step 5. You can always add more if needed.

 

Pasta with Chicken Sausage and Spinach

I have to say, this is one of my favorite things I’ve ever made. I really love marinara sauce, but it’s so nice to have something different for a change. And I love sun-dried tomatoes, and don’t use them enough! And chicken sausage is so tasty and easy! Since it’s pre-cooked, you really don’t have to do anything to it. I just like to brown it for personal preference, and because I think it looks more appetizing.

The Critics:

Sarah Crewe: Mmmm! This is pretty good! The sausage gives it a real flavor.

Batman: It’s delicious!!!!

Curious George: It’s good, but I don’t like the tomatoes. They taste like red raisins.

Elmo: Me too! Me too! Me too! (She wouldn’t stop eating!)

Don Corleone: It’s a piquant and delightful blend of pasta and pig. Oh, it’s chicken? It’s a piquant and delightful blend of pasta and poultry.

Ah, well. Rest in peace,  Elizabeth. We will miss you. Say hi to Michael Jackson for us.

On a brighter note, a special shout-out goes to Steve McQueen who would be 81 tomorrow, March 24. Happy Birthday, Big Guy!

More about The King of Cool later…

Steve McQueen

6 responses to “Pasta with Chicken Sausage and Spinach

  1. this one realy looks .I have to try it. Will let you know it turns out THANKS

  2. Good job — on the menu and for Liz

  3. Tried this one tonight – so tasty, this one might become a staple recipe in our house!

Leave a Reply

