Cheese-Stuffed Hot Dogs with Spicy Onions

Shhh… Listen!

Do you hear that? The crack of the bat as it sends the ball flying out over left field… The cheers of the crowd as the ball soars up into the blue sky, and out of the park… The exuberant sound of the announcer as he declares, Harry Kalas-style, that the ball is “outta here…”

That’s right, my friends, it’s baseball season!

Take me out to the ball game,

Take me out to the crowd

Field of Dreams

"That's what I wish for. Chance to squint at a sky so blue that it hurts your eyes just to look at it. To feel the tingling in your arm as you connect with the ball. To run the bases - stretch a double into a triple, and flop face-first into third, wrap your arms around the bag." -Field of Dreams

Buy me some peanuts and Cracker Jack

I don’t care if I ever get back

"Red, it took me sixteen years to get here. You play me, and I'll give ya the best I got." -The Natural

‘Cause it’s root, root, root for the home team

If they don’t win, it’s a shame

"Today, I consider myself the luckiest man on the face of the earth." -The Pride of the Yankees

For it’s one, two, three strikes, you’re out

At the old ball-game!

"Man, this is baseball. You gotta stop thinking. Just have fun." -The Sandlot

Hooray for baseball! Hooray for hot dogs! Hooray for Kevin Costner and Gary Cooper and Dennis Quaid, and Hooray for the dog in The Sandlot! Hooray for ballparks and mascots and announcers and favorite teams! Hooray for hot dogs! Hooray for baseball caps that 4-year-olds wear all day and night, even to bed! Hooray for Roy Halladay!

Did I say Hooray for hot dogs yet?

Cheese-Stuffed Hot Dogs with Spicy Onions

This recipe is from Rachael Ray

  • 4 hot dogs
  • 2 tbsp grill seasoning
  • 2 slices cheddar cheese, cut into 1/2-inch strips
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 small onions, sliced 1/4-inch think
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp finely chopped chipotle chile in adobo sauce, plus 1 tsp adobo sauce
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 4 hot dog buns

Directions:

  1. Preheat the broiler. Make a slit lengthwise down each hot dog, being careful not to cut all the way through. Place the grill seasoning and hot dogs in a plastic bag; shake to coat. Place the hot dogs on a baking sheet and stuff each with 2 or 3 strips of cheese.
  2. In a large skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-low heat. Add the onions and cook until softened and golden, 12 to 15 minutes. Add the brown sugar, chipotle, adobo sauce and salt and cook, stirring, until the sugar dissolves, about 2 minutes.
  3. Butter the insides of the buns and place face up on the baking sheet with the hot dogs. Broil until the cheese is melted and the buns are toasted, 3 to 5 minutes. Assemble the hot dogs and top with the caramelized onions.

If you cook it, they will come.

Don Corleone declared these hot dogs “super awesome” and “the epitome of what a hot dog should be.” I completely and wholeheartedly concur. These hot dogs are so good that every time I see the picture on the page I clipped out of Rachael Ray’s magazine, I decide we need to have them again.

The kids are happy to have plain hot dogs. The onions are very spicy, so I don’t even offer them. And that’s fine, because a night where all four kids happily eat their dinner without a single complaint is sooooo okay with me!

"You know what we get to do today, Brooks? We get to play baseball." -The Rookie

"There's no crying in baseball!" -A League of Their Own

"Do you want to quit, Tanner?" "Crud, No! I want to play ball!" -The Bad News Bears

Here’s to baseball and hot dogs!

Go Phillies!

 

3 responses to “Cheese-Stuffed Hot Dogs with Spicy Onions

  1. This one really sounds good. I can’t wait to try it. I love the story’s that go with it.
    Thank for doing it.My wife also enjoys it.

  2. This one does look good. My dad really likes it and I heard my mom enjoyed it too. Go Phillies!

Leave a Reply

