Broiled Tilapia with Pesto

April is here, and you know what they say- April Showers Make People Grumpy.

Wait, that’s not it.

"Little bitty stinging rain..." -Forrest Gump

Yesterday God played an April Fool’s joke on us and made it snow. Or, as we used to say when we were kids, He pushed the wrong button.

Breakfast at Tiffany's

What is it about kissing in the rain that’s so great?

Spider-Man

Have I ever had a romantic kiss in the rain? Hmmm… I’ve had a gazebo kiss…

Well, if there is a rain-soaked lip-lock in my past, it obviously wasn’t very memorable.

Kissing in the rain...John Wayne/Maureen O'Hara in "The Quiet Man"

The Quiet Man

That’s it. Next time it rains, I’m dragging my husband outside for a kiss.

Eh. Nevermind. Then we’d get all wet, and have to change our clothes, and dry my hair, and the kids would wonder what we’re doing, and they’d want to come out to play in the rain, too, and then I’d have to change their clothes, and it really would just be a big pain in the butt.

We’ve been married 13 years, we have nothing to prove! Indoor kissing will be just fine!

"You boys better move away." -Unforgiven

"All those moments will be lost in time... like tears in rain..." -Blade Runner

Broiled Tilapia with Pesto

Directions:

Take some tilapia. Broil it. Top with pesto.

Okay, calm down! I’ll walk you through this.

Place tilapia (not frozen) in a baking dish. I used a little under 2 lbs, which was way too much for my family of bird-like eaters. You can sprinkle some seasonings on if you like. I used lemon-pepper seasoning. Broil for 5-10 minutes, or until fish flakes easily with a fork. Serve with pesto.

Voila!

Broiled Tilapia with Pesto

I also served couscous and string beans. The beans were a daring move, considering what happened earlier in the week when I told my 4-year-old he had to eat his string beans before he got up from the table. Let’s just say that string beans look better going in than they do coming out.

Ewww. Sorry about that. Here’s what the critics thought:

Sarah Crewe: I don’t really like it.

Batman: This is delicious!

Curious George: It’s good, Mommy. I like it.

Elmo ate lots of pesto. And couscous. And tasted the fish but didn’t seem too impressed.

Don Corleone was sulking a bit because I didn’t let him fry the fish in his “Daddy Fryer,” (what the kids call his “Fry Daddy”), but he did say it tasted delicious.

 

"Just one last thing, and then it's done." -Road to Perdition

If you ever make a movie, you should definitely include a rain scene. Rain makes everything better- kissing, killing,

Kelly…

"I'm laughing at clouds, so dark up above..." -Singing in the Rain

And it does, indeed, Bring May Flowers!

One response to “Broiled Tilapia with Pesto

  1. The string bean story made me laugh…the same thing happened to me when I tried to make my son eat asparagus! Never again! Anyway, GREAT recipe. I would have never thought to put pesto on fish! I will definitely try it! : )

Leave a Reply

