Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

This was not a fish taco day.

I woke up at 2:30 a.m. when my 8-year-old daughter came into my bed, coughing, and burning up with fever. I loaded her up on Benadryl and Motrin and tried to go back to sleep. I think I succeeded around 6:00, only to be woken again at 7:00 by her little sister, angrily screaming from her crib, “MOM-MEEEEE!!!!” as if she could sense that someone else was getting a little more than their fair share of my attention.

Then the boys woke up and set off on their first fishing trip of trout season. So me and the girls planted ourselves on the couch and watched Lady and the Tramp. Then we watched The Princess Diaries and The Princess Diaries 2 (thanks to my sister, who made an emergency “Princess movie” run to my house with the DVDs once she heard there were no boys here).

Yeah, we sat on our butts all morning and watched three movies. The oldest didn’t move, the youngest didn’t sit still, and I shamefully sat there for most of it, getting up occasionally to take care of the laundry.

Then the boys came home and I went grocery shopping. And it started to pour. And pour. And pour. I’m talking Noah and the ark-type rain. I almost drowned. Okay, I’m totally exaggerating. But I did get very wet.

This is way more than you need to know. Let me just sum up by saying:

Sick kid + movie/pajama day + buckets of rain = grilled cheese and tomato soup.

NOT fish tacos.

But we had fish tacos anyway.

Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

  • 1 1/2 lbs cod fillets
  • juice of 2 limes (divided)
  • 1/4 tsp lime zest
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely diced
  • 1/3 cup sour cream
  • 1/8 tsp chipotle chili powder
  • 6 small flour tortillas
  • 1 yellow and 1 orange pepper, cut into very thin strips
  • 1/4 of a red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 avocado, peeled and diced
  • more fresh cilantro for garnish

Directions:

  1. Place fish fillets in a large ziploc bag. Add juice of 1 lime, zest, cilantro, and jalapeno. Close bag and place in refrigerator to marinate for about an hour.
  2. Preheat broiler. Remove fish from bag and place on a baking dish or broiling pan and broil for about 12-15 minutes, turning halfway through.
  3. While fish is cooking, make the dressing. Combine the sour cream, juice of 1/2 lime, and chipotle chili powder. Set aside.
  4. Heat tortillas according to package directions. Spread about 1-2 tsp (according to taste) dressing in the center of each tortilla. Break fish up into small pieces and divide evenly between tacos. Sprinkle with a little bit of remaining lime juice. Top with peppers, onion, avocado, and fresh cilantro.

Fish Tacos

Don Corleone said he loved these tacos. He said, “From now on when I go fishing, I’ll just hold up a tortilla and hope a fish jumps into it.”

The rest of The Critics were not as enthusiastic. Batman and Curious George each had one bite and said they didn’t like it. Elmo had one bite and said she did, but I think she was just trying to get more chips from me. I didn’t make Sarah Crewe taste it, since she didn’t eat anything besides Jell-o all day.

I made the kids chicken nuggets, because that’s just the kind of mom I am.

Actually it’s because sick kid + movie/pajama day + buckets of rain + lack of sleep = A mom who doesn’t feel like fighting with the kids over dinner.

Not to go off on a tangent, but my original post was going to be about Sidney Lumet, who passed away last week. But as I was going through his filmography, I realized that many of the movies he directed were ones that I wanted to see but never really got around to it. With the exception of 12 Angry Men, which is awesome.

We rented Network a few weeks ago, but I lost interest after about 30 seconds. My husband, after about 20 minutes, was kind enough to turn it off and put on an old 1980’s Saturday Night Live episode instead. Love that Church Lady.

So, yes… instead of writing about Sidney Lumet, I chose to write about The Princess Diaries. I said this blog would be about movies, I never said they’d be good ones.

Actually, I’m kidding. The Princess Diaries is really a very cute movie. It’s clean, (I think “shut up” is the worst thing spoken) and the teens are refreshingly NOT disrespectful and rude to their elders. And my 8-year-old daughter loved it.

Oh, and while we’re on the subject of royalty… I’m getting a little concerned that my invitation to Will & Kate’s wedding hasn’t arrived yet. I’m sure it has just gotten lost in the mail… after all, these things do happen. But, tell me, would it be bad form for me to just show up? Surely the royal family won’t mind… right?

Hello?

Fine, be that way. No Official Commemorative William & Kate Royal Bobbleheads for you, then!

3 responses to “Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

  1. Yes, I think you should show up to the Royal Wedding!!

  2. An excellent fish-taco-cinema saga. As for Sidney Lumet, too bad you didn’t cotton to Network (I think it’s a classic and awfully prescient) — you may wish to try “Dog Day Afternoon” or “Serpico” instead. He also did the movie version of “Deathtrap,” which is pretty fun.

Leave a Reply

