Super Easy Ice Cream Cake

Yesterday I had a baby. I blinked, and then today she turned two. How did that happen?

I love two. It’s such a great age. They’re defiant, but still so darn cute. I think three is the “terrible” age. Two is darling.

Usually.

My now two-year-old has learned some new words this past week:

“chocolate eggs,” “chocolate bunny,” “jelly beans,” and “me too.”

I think “me too” is her favorite. She can be at the complete opposite end of the house, but if she senses that somebody, somewhere, is getting something good, she comes running, “Me tooooooooo!!!!!!!”

She also has a new habit. It goes something like this:

Her: My Elmo milk? (which translates to ‘May I  have some milk in my Elmo sippy cup, Mother Darling?’)

Me: Say please

Her: Peez. Water.

Me: You want water? Or milk?

Her: Yes.

Me: Water?

Her: Yes. Water. Milk.

Me: Which one?

Her: Yes. Water. Milk.

Me: Okay, I’ll get you some milk. I open the fridge and remove the milk carton.

Her: Noooooooo!!!!! Water!

Me: Okay, I’ll get you some water. I hand her the cup of water. She throws herself on the ground.

Her: Noooo!!!!!! Milk.

As I go through this exchange, I realize how ridiculous it is, but once we’re in the middle of it, I can’t seem to get out. It’s like in Spaceballs when they set the spaceship to “ludicrous speed” (because light speed is too slow): “We can’t stop! It’s too dangerous!”

See how cute two-year-olds are?

I learned how to make this cake from a family at our church with five (now grown) children. I’m guessing they made their fair share of these cakes over the years 🙂

Super Easy Ice Cream Cake

  • 1 package oreos (I use double stuff)
  • 1 1/2 quart horizontal carton ice cream (the kind that used to be a half gallon. PLEASE do not get my husband started on shrinking ice cream containers!)
  • 16-oz jar of hot fudge sauce

Directions:

  1. Remove ice cream from freezer and let soften while you work on the cookies.
  2. Using a blender or food processor (or ziploc bag & a rolling pin) mash the cookies into fine crumbs. I use the whole package, minus four cookies (one for each kid to sample… “quality control,” of course). Pour into a 9 x 13-inch baking dish.
  3. Remove the lid from the hot fudge sauce and place jar in microwave. Heat on high for about 40 seconds. Spoon the sauce all over the cookie crumbs and try to spread as evenly as possible. This creates a lovely chocolate-y gooey mess that would make Willy Wonka proud. Is it wrong that I wanted to scoop some up with my hands and eat it? Probably.
  4. Remove the lid from the ice cream carton. Place the carton on a large cutting board. Using kitchen shears, cut the package down the four sides (see photo). Press the sides down so you just have the ice cream block sitting there.
  5. Cut the ice cream into slices about 1/2-3/4 inches thick. Honestly, I never measure, I’m just trying to give you an idea. Arrange the slices in the pan, Tetris style, and fit them as best as you can. By now the ice cream should be nice and soft and mushy. With the back of a spoon, spread the ice cream around, just a little bit, to fill in any holes and make the ice cream somewhat even.
  6. Place in freezer for four hours, or until firm.

Ice Cream container cut open

My daughter asked for an “Abby Elmo cake.” I used Wilton decorating gels. You MUST freeze the cake for AT LEAST four hours before you try to decorate with the gels. If you don’t, maybe because you were trying to hurry up and take a picture of the finished cake for your blog because tonight after cake you are going to see Dennis Miller, then the colors will run, and you will wind up with a psychedelic Abby Cadabby:

Super Easy Ice Cream Cake

I can’t stop laughing whenever I look at her! It’s okay. As long as my not-a-baby recognizes her, it’s all good.  My boys both said it still looks good. Although, they were playing Star Wars Lego on the Wii when I showed them the cake, and their answer was kind of like, “Oh, yeah, that looks good Mommy… Look out! Here comes Darth Vader!” Or something like that.

My baby is two. Sigh. Yesterday she was born, today she turns two, tomorrow she’ll be going off to college…

Eh, there’s no time to get sentimental. I must focus on the present, for as Jerry Seinfeld said: “A two-year-old is kind of like having a blender, but you don’t have a top for it.”

Gotta run!

4 responses to “Super Easy Ice Cream Cake

  1. That is one cute niece i have.

  2. Next I hope we will see an ice cream cake for Vito Corleone, appropriately decorated with either (or all) of the faces of Klaus Kinski, Charles Bronson, or Machete. 🙂 (Hmm I may be projecting here…)

  3. Too cute- now I know where Sarah Crew gets her awesome artistic capabilities from.

    I just noticed you have to update your Meet the Critics section – Elmo is apparently still only 1 1/2!

Leave a Reply

