Frank Sinatra’s Sausage and Peppers

Would it sound as good if it were “Frank Sinatra’s Tuna Casserole?”

Hey, you know what? Frank tells you to make tuna casserole, you make the tuna casserole.

Fortunately for us, it’s sausage and peppers.

Frank Sinatra died this week (May 14) 13 years ago. I still remember it so clearly. I was getting ready for work when my mom called to tell me the news. ‘Oh man,’ I thought, ‘How am I going to break the news to Don Corleone?’

We had been married only nine months, and this was the first “big” news I had to break to him. He was (and is) a HUGE Sinatra fan. I knew I had to be gentle and sensitive. How would I, in my new role as a loving wife, handle this momentous occasion?

I hung up the phone, went into the bedroom where The Don was dressing for work, and blurt out, “Guess what! Frank Sinatra died!”

Smooth.

Don’t beat around the bush, that’s my motto.

This is the recipe that Frank Sinatra prepared when he appeared on Dinah Shore’s television show, and you can also find it in her cookbook:

Someone's in the Kitchen With Dinah

Frank Sinatra’s Sausage and Peppers

  •  1 lb hot Italian sausage
  • 3 green bell peppers
  • 3/4 cup red wine
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper (optional)

Directions:

  1. Remove stems and seeds from peppers and cut into large chunks. In an ovenproof baking dish that can be used on top of the stove, saute green peppers in oil until they begin to soften. Sprinkle with a little salt. Lift green peppers out of dish and set aside.
  2. Brown the sausage in the same baking dish. When browned, add the red wine.
  3. Cover the pan and bake the sausages in wine in a 350F oven for 40 minutes.
  4. Uncover and add green peppers back to the dish. Bake for another 30 minutes and serve in the same dish.

I used half hot and half sweet Italian sausages, because I thought the hot would be too much for the kids. I served this with crusty garlic bread and spaghetti with marinara sauce. And salad, which nobody ate because we were all too stuffed from the pasta and sausage.  

Frank Sinatra's Sausage and Peppers

Wow. This was good. I mean really, really good. And I’m not just saying that because I think Frank will send some of his goons to haunt me from the grave. It really was fantastic.  My critics agreed:

Don Corleone: It’s ring-a-ding-delicious!

Sarah Crewe: I really love the sausage. The peppers are bad.

Batman: The sausage and peppers are really good!

Curious George: I like the sausage. I don’t like the peppers.

Elmo ate only pasta. But she didn’t have a nap today, so I think it’s unfair to take her opinion too seriously 😉

If you’re interested, click here to watch a video on youtube of The Chairman cooking his marinara sauce with Dinah Shore in 1970. It’s fun to watch!

 I always loved Phil Hartman’s portrayal of Ol’ Blue Eyes on Saturday Night Live…

Best of Phil Hartman

Phil Hartman as Frank Sinatra

Enjoy 🙂

4 responses to “Frank Sinatra’s Sausage and Peppers

  1. Lol, I loved this post! Great job!!

  2. Tried this one tonight, and I must say- YUM! Super tasty, easy to cook AND an excuse to open a bottle of wine? Now that’s my kind of meal!

Leave a Reply

