Summer Crock Pot Recipes

It’s hot.

I mean really, really hot. I think the temperature today reached eight-hundred million degrees. Roughly.

Of course, I’m a whiny baby when it comes to hot weather. Anything above 80˚ is hot to me. Once the temperature reaches 90˚, forget it. I’m done for.

I’ve had a stuffed peppers recipe that I’ve been meaning to share, but it’s been too hot to even think about using the oven. So instead, I’d like to share some summertime slow cooker recipes I’ve been collecting. Some of these I’ve tried and love, and others I will be trying very soon.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Sooooo good! My whole family loves this. I don’t use pork tenderloin, as suggested, though. I usually use whatever kind of pork roast-type thing is on sale. You can even take it right from your freezer without defrosting (but you might have to cook it longer). Really tasty topped with cole slaw.

Easy and Tasty Barbecue Chicken Sandwiches Almost the same thing as above, but with chicken. Easy. Tasty.

Chicken Tacos We love tacos. I like this recipe because you can just take the filling out of the crock pot, put it in a tortilla, and call it a taco. Extra toppings are nice, but not necessary. For example, if you don’t have any sour cream because when you were standing in the dairy aisle at the store thinking ‘Do we have sour cream at home?’ and finally decided that yes, you do remember seeing some sour cream at the back of the fridge, but then when taco night rolled around and you removed said sour cream from the back of the fridge you realized  it expired three weeks ago, well, it’s okay. Skip the sour cream. It’s still good. Oh, and when your husband says, “Do we have any sour cream?” don’t yell at him. It’s not his fault.

I am also excited to try Creamy Chicken Tacos. The best part is, it has cream cheese in it, so there’s no need for any of that rabble-rouser sour cream.

John McCain’s Rib Recipe (in the crock pot) Haven’t tried this one yet. But I’ve been thinking about ribs A LOT  lately. Don Corleone isn’t a big fan of ribs, unlike the complete carnivore that he married. But I think he’ll just have to deal with it one night. Or maybe two:

Barbecue Beef Ribs Haven’t tried this one yet, either. But I will, I tell you. I will indeed!

Hawaiian Chicken Drumsticks. Oooooh…. I’m so excited to try this one! I love when the word “Hawaiian” is included in the title of a recipe. Even though Hawaii is hot.

I will continue to share summer crock pot recipes as I try them, and if you have any favorites, please share 🙂

Hope you’re enjoying the weather, wherever you are!

6 responses to “Summer Crock Pot Recipes

  1. yay! Thanks for these, I love the slow cooker!

  2. Those chicken tacos and the drumsticks sound like wonderful summer foods! Thanks for linking up 🙂

  3. Thanks for linking to my blog for the Hawaiian Drumsticks reicpe. 🙂 It’s definitely a favorite in any season!

Leave a Reply

