Sausage Stuffed Peppers

I’m pretty sure my kids can see right through me. I think they figured out that I don’t know anything. I’ve never been good at acting. I just didn’t think they’d catch on so soon.

My parents know everything. When I was a little girl, I would ask them questions, and whatever they answered, I knew to be The Truth. Even if it didn’t make sense. I’m still not sure how my dad had to walk to and from school uphill both ways. I guess it was some strange cosmic thing where you live at the bottom of the hill but you’re also at the top…? I don’t know. All I know is, my dad said it, so it must be true.

Also, I’m still trying to figure out where they sent our dog Bingo. I’m sure it’s a lovely farm. I’d like to visit him.

As for my kids, I’m wondering how many times I can say, “I don’t know, honey, that’s just the way God made it” before they start whispering to each other, “Don’t bother. She doesn’t know anything. Let’s go look it up on wikipedia.”

I was hoping I’d learn some things before they become teenagers and really know more than me, but it’s all going by so fast, and I’m pretty sure I’m getting dumber by the minute.

I guess I should be happy that my kids are smart. And I am. But if I have to hear the words, “Actually, Mommy…” one more time, I’ll… Well, I don’t know what, because my brain already punched out for the night. But I’m sure it will involve  the “little Smart-mouths” getting “something to cry about.”

Even my two-year-old has added the word “actually” to her vocabulary. The other day she pointed to the book I was reading and said, “That’s mine.” I told her that no, it was Mommy’s book. But apparently her wise older siblings already informed her of my stupidity. She calmly replied, “Actually, it’s mine.” Sigh. Et tu, Elmo?

Sometimes when my kids ask me a particularly hard question, I just stuff their sweet, inquisitive little faces with food. It’s a win-win.

Sausage Stuffed Peppers

  • 1 lb Italian sausage (I used a mix of hot & sweet)
  • 1 14.5-oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 4 large bell peppers
  • 4-6 tbsp shredded mozzarella cheese
  • tomato sauce for serving (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350˚
  2. Remove casings from sausage. Brown sausage over medium-high heat in a skillet, breaking up into crumbles.
  3. Drain the can  of tomatoes and reserve juices. Pour the tomatoes into a large bowl. Remove sausage from skillet and add to tomatoes. Add bread crumbs, Parmesan cheese, basil, and oregano. Mix to combine.
  4. Pour reserved tomato juices into a baking dish. Remove tops, seeds, and membranes from peppers. Place peppers in dish on top of the juice. Fill the peppers with the sausage mixture.
  5. Cover and bake for 45 minutes. Remove from oven. Sprinkle 1 – 1 1/2 tbsp mozzarella cheese over each pepper. Return to oven and bake, uncovered, for another 10-15 minutes, or until peppers are soft and cheese is melted. Serve with tomato sauce, if desired.

Click here for printable version

The Reviews:

Elmo: I don’t like it. (She was talking about the peppers. Actually she had several helpings of the sausage)

Batman: Mmmmmmm…. I love it!

Curious George: I tasted it, and I don’t really like it. Then: I sort of like it. Then: I like it.

Sarah Crewe: I like the pepper but not the stuffing.

Don Corleone: I love it!

I didn’t think the kids would eat this dish, so I thought four peppers would be enough. (Of course I thought that. I dumb, remember?). I think next time I’ll make six peppers and give each Critic their own.

Sausage Stuffed Peppers

Maybe one day I’ll learn some stuff, and then I’ll share it with my kids. For now, I think I’ll embrace my ignorance. At least it gets me off Homework Duty.

5 responses to “Sausage Stuffed Peppers

  1. You are better off keeping to yourself (what you learned)…. I know I at one time had small children and they can gang up on you…. Just remember never ever threaten something that you will not follow through on, when I was told it sounded so immanent that I never ever said anything I would not follow through on…. I like your words and will be reading more and the stuffed peppers look so delicious….RaeDi

  2. Looks fantastic!

  3. I made these for dinner tonight and it was the best stuffed pepper I’ve ever had! Oh my gosh I can’t believe how tasty! We also made that zucchini cappricio (spelling?) for a side- though I added way too much salt it was still pretty good. Now I’ll know for next time. The stuffed peppers though. Oh man. I don’t think I’ll ever make them any other way again.

Leave a Reply

