Stuffed Sweet Mini Peppers

It’s July 1. I have been blogging for six months now. The mealtime question, “Is this for your blog?” has been asked so many times around my house, I lost count. My Critics are, of course, human, and even though they are small, they love to see their words in print. Even if their only review is, “It’s good.”

I have a bunch of recipes on deck that I want to try. But I put them aside, because the other day I was at Trader Joe’s, and I saw these:

"Buy us! Buy us!!!"

They started whispering to me: “Buy us! Don’t we look so delicious?? Who cares if we’re not on your list? Buy us!”

Why does that always happen to me at Trader Joe’s?

I’ve never bought sweet mini peppers before, and I didn’t know what to do with them, but I had to buy them, because they told me to, and I’m a good girl, and always do what I’m told.

I got it into my head that whatever I did with these peppers, it had to involve goat cheese and fresh basil. I am growing a basil plant. I do this every year, and this year (so far) is the first year the plant hasn’t died in the first two weeks. So I really, really wanted to use basil. Plus I love the smell of fresh basil more than anything else in the entire world (that may be a slight exaggeration).

Stuffed Sweet Mini Peppers

  • 6-8 mini sweet peppers
  • 5.5-oz package goat cheese
  • handful of fresh basil, chopped
  • handful of fresh tarragon, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp ground pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350˚
  2. Carefully cut each pepper in half lenghwise. Lay the peppers out on a baking sheet.
  3. After you chop the basil, take a few pieces around to your family, and say, “Smell this! Isn’t that a wonderful smell? Can you believe Mommy grew this herself and it hasn’t died yet? Doesn’t it smell fantastic?”
  4. Combine cheese, herbs, and pepper. Spoon into pepper halves. Bake in preheated oven for about 10 minutes.

 

Stuffed Mini Sweet Peppers

Click here for a printable version.

Wow, these peppers are so good! It’s definitely a grown-up treat, though. The young Critics weren’t interested. Elmo thought she was interested, until she took one and got a closer look. Then she said, “Actually, no,” and gave it back to me. Batman and Sarah Crewe each took a bite and then gave theirs, back, too. Curious George was excused because of his strep throat. My 19-year-old cousin was here and she politely declined.

Don Corleone and I ate way too many. Okay, fine, we ate them all. They’re so delicious! They’d be a great appetizer for your Fourth of July party!

Thank you for reading my blog! I love writing it, and I look forward to the next six months of cooking adventures!

7 responses to “Stuffed Sweet Mini Peppers

  1. ohhh very creative yet simple! Yummy!

  2. Sounds delicious. My family likes the crumbled goat cheese, so maybe I can finally get them to eat peppers! Yummy! If I grew my own basil and it didn’t die, I would definitely be following step 3.

  3. I have not written my post yet ( I too am a day late and a dollar short I’ll get caught up one of these days,) but I did the mini peppers too, but I stuffed mine with a wonderful turkey stuffing and they were incredible, these little things are additive, I love you recipe….RaeDi

  4. Those are absolutely beautiful! They look so fresh, as though they would make your mouth sing.

Leave a Reply

