Red, White, and Blue Cheese Potato Salad

Do you know what day it is today? You probably don’t remember. It’s okay, you’re not supposed to. It’s I Forgot Day. Apparently you are supposed to use this day to remember all the birthdays, anniversaries, etc, that you previously forgot, (or think you might forget?). So I hope that you remember that you forgot them.

I have a terrible memory. Things tend to leave my head as soon as they enter. I do remember some strange things, though, like my first phone number, even though that number hasn’t been used for 25 years. And yet, ask me what my husband’s cell phone number is. I can’t tell you, because it’s stored in my cell phone, which is upstairs right now. (Dear Evil Aliens, when you come to take over the Earth, hit the cell towers first. You will have no trouble after that, I promise).

My brother remembers everything. He says things like, “Hey, remember that time when you were five, and I was three…” Um, no, I don’t even remember that time when I was thirty-five and you were thirty-three. I don’t know how he does it.

My husband remembers everything we’ve ever done based on what we ate. “Hey, Vito, remember that time in 1995 when we went to the aquarium in Baltimore?” “Of course, I do, that’s the same day we went to that restaurant and had those fantastic chicken fajitas.”

Of course, there are things that you should forget. A big one… childbirth. I remember telling my mom there’s no way I would ever have kids. She said, “As soon as you’re holding that sweet little baby in your arms, you forget all the pain.” Yeah, right, Mom, whatever. (Except we didn’t say ‘whatever’ back then. I’d tell you what we did say, but I forget).

She was right, of course. My second child was born so fast that I didn’t have time for any pain medication (even though I shamelessly begged and pleaded). Then when I was pregnant with my third child, I told my husband I was thinking about not asking for medication this time, because “last time really wasn’t that bad.” His response? “Ummmmmmm…. okay.”

But enough about my terrible memory. Wasn’t I supposed to be doing something? Oh, right… potato salad!

Red, White, and Blue Cheese Potato Salad

  • 2 1/2 pounds red potatoes (or mix of red and white)
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 2 tsp vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tbsp chopped chives
  • 1 cup blue cheese, crumbled
  • 6 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled

Directions:

  1. Bring large pot of water to a boil. Cut potatoes into small pieces. Add to boiling water. Cook for about 15 minutes, or until potatoes are tender.
  2. While potatoes are cooking, combine sour cream, buttermilk, vinegar, pepper, chives, and blue cheese in a large bowl.
  3. Drain potatoes. Add to sour cream mixture. Stir in bacon.
  4. Cover and refrigerate for a few hours, until chilled.

Red, White, and Blue Cheese Potato Salad

Click here for a printable version.

My grown-up Critic and I love, love, love this potato salad. Probably a little too much. What’s not to love- potatoes, blue cheese, bacon, buttermilk… it’s heavenly! But the younger Critics? Well…

Batman said he liked it. Elmo spit it out and said, “Mommy, I don’t like it,” but ended up eating it, and asking for more.

Sarah Crewe and Curious George coughed and gagged so much you would have thought I was feeding them leftovers from Fear Factor.

Don’t listen to them.

Have a very happy I Forgot Day! I hope you forget some stuff!

3 responses to “Red, White, and Blue Cheese Potato Salad

  1. Love this. Heading out to pick up potatoes.

  2. I Forgot Day. Love it! Of course, people have to remember it, which might be a bit tricky.

Leave a Reply

