Strawberry Jello Pie

My kids were mystified by this dessert. Is it really Jello? Really? But how did you get it to be in a pie shape?

My kids are so sheltered.

The young Critics are passing strep throat around. It’s awesome. I’ve been serving lots and lots of Jello, ice cream, and pudding. And to shake things up a bit, Rita’s water ice.

My plan for a Fourth of July dessert was strawberry filled chocolate cupcakes with vanilla buttercream, and topped with red, white, and blue sprinkles. But since half of us have swollen tonsils and can’t swallow without pain, I decided instead on more Jello.

Strawberry Jello Pie

this recipe is from Kraft foods

  • 1 1/4 cups apple juice
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 pkg (4-serving size) strawberry Jello
  • 1 graham cracker pie crust
  • fresh berries and/or cool whip, optional, for serving

Directions:

  1. Mix apple juice, sugar, and cornstarch in saucepan; cook on medium heat 2 minutes or until thickened, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Add dry gelatin mix; stir 2 minutes or until completely dissolved.
  2. Optional: Arrange strawberries on bottom of crust.
  3. Pour gelatin mixture into pie crust. Refrigerate 2 hours or until firm.

The reason I didn’t put strawberries in the bottom of my pie is because the kids are having trouble swallowing berries. They just had cool whip on top of their servings. But mine looked like this (don’t look at that little drop of Cool Whip that’s trying to escape):

Strawberry Jello Pie

Batman, who has the swollen-est tonsils, did not like this dessert. I don’t know if it’s because he’s sick, or because he’s just sick of Jello. But he didn’t eat it. He played with it a while, and then asked, “Do I have to finish my dessert?”  Fine! I guess since you had a milkshake for dinner, I’ll let you get away with not eating your dessert. But just wait ’til you’re feeling better, Mister! You’ll eat your dessert if you have to sit there all night!

Everyone else loved the pie. I’m glad.

But I really hope they get better soon.

4 responses to “Strawberry Jello Pie

  1. theveryhungrybookworm

    That looks delicious, especially for a fourth of July dessert. My mom used to make something like that that had a layer of cooked strawberries as well. Swoonworthy 🙂

  2. I never would have thought to make jello pie! I only ever eat jello at Chinese buffets, in cube form. I love jello. Sorry your little guys aren’t feeling well!

Leave a Reply

