So Simple Fresh Lemonade

Happy Independence Day! Whatever your Fourth of July plans are today, here are some fun facts to enjoy about America’s birthday:

Interesting Facts About Independence Day:

  • July 4 became a federal holiday in 1941.
  • July 4, 1776 marks the date the Declaration of Independence was adopted by the Second Continental Congress.
  • John Hancock was the only person to actually sign the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776. The other 55 signers did not sign it until August 2nd or even later.
  • John Adams and Thomas Jefferson both died on the 50th anniversary America’s Independence: July 4, 1826.
  • The majority of the nation’s flags and patriotic paraphernalia is produced in China.
  • Over an estimated 150 million hot dogs will be consumed today.
  • An estimated 2.5 million people lived in America on July 4, 1776.
  • An estimated 311.7 million people live in America today.
  • 11 places in the United States have “Independence” in their name.
  •  George Washington did not sign the Declaration of Independence. He was too busy fighting the British at the time.
  • Florida led the nation in watermelon production last year (818 million pounds).
  • Watermelon is a member of the squash family, so it is a vegetable, not a fruit.
  • What did one flag say to the other? Nothing, it just waved.

Disclaimer: All of these facts were found on the Internet. That’s how I know they’re true.

And all of this lemonade disappears very quickly after making it. That’s how I know it’s good. (Nice segue, right?).

So Simple Fresh Lemonade

  • 2-3 large lemons
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 8 cups (1/2 gallon) cold water

Directions:

  1. Slice lemons and place in bottom of a pitcher.
  2. Pour sugar over lemons. With a wooden spoon, push down on the lemon slices, so that you’re smashing the sugar into the lemons and releasing the juices.
  3. Fill pitcher with cold water and stir.

So Simple Fresh Lemonade

Click here for printable version.

My mother-in-law taught me how to make this lemonade. It is so easy, and so yummy. My Critics all love it. Darth Vader loves him a glass of fresh lemonade, too.

Enjoy your Independence Day! Happy Birthday, America!

5 responses to “So Simple Fresh Lemonade

  1. I’m making lemonade today too. Yours is lovely with the thinly sliced pieces of lemon floating in it! You can tell the internet that watermelon isn’t a vegetable; squash is fruit. Ha!

    • Hmmm… interesting… it’s so unlike the internet to have wrong information! Well, I think I’ll go on calling it a vegetable for today, so I can feel good about serving it for dinner. But tomorrow I’ll go back to calling it a fruit 🙂

  2. I do not like lemons or lemonade. But Mr. J loves both so I decided to make this for him. He and his father finished off the pitcher in less than an hour! They thank you. 🙂

    • They’re welcome 🙂

      And really, you don’t like lemons? I never knew…

      • Yea, I’m not a lemon person. I’m trying to like them. It’s growing on me- I’ve been adding lemon juice to some things a little here and there just to see and it’s not too bad so maybe I’m lying and I do like them. hmm. Maybe I should go try that lemonade myself. Maybe I should just shut up now.

Leave a Reply

