Chocolate Milk Waffles

Today is my son’s 7th birthday. I get super sentimental on my kid’s birthdays. I can’t help it; time just goes by so fast.

Except for the first five-and-a-half months of my son’s life. I thought they would never, ever, ever, ever end. People told me that colic only lasts for three months, but they lied.  (A little side note… if you have a baby with colic right now, which I’m guessing you don’t, because if you did you would probably be crying too, instead of reading a recipe for chocolate milk waffles, but if you do, first of all, I’m so very, very sorry. Second, it will end. I know you don’t believe me, but I promise you, it will end).

Fortunately (for him), Batman is now an extremely pleasant kid. Maybe he thought he’d get all his crying done early in life. I don’t know, but I’m grateful. I’m so grateful that I just might make him some of these for his birthday breakfast:

Chocolate Milk Waffles

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate milk
  • 1/2 cup canola (or vegetable) oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat waffle iron.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk eggs with a fork. Mix in milk, oil, and vanilla.
  3. Add dry ingredients and mix with fork just until combined. Pour mix onto hot waffle iron and cook until they’re as done as you like.

 

Chocolate Milk Waffles

 Click here for a printable version.

 

These are so not breakfast waffles. Actually, I suspect they’d be great with ice cream and chocolate syrup on top.  But don’t tell anybody, I served them for breakfast anyway. If a chocolate doughnut can be called breakfast, then so can a chocolate waffle. Take that, Cheerios.

I probably don’t have to tell you that my Critics all love these. They were so busy scarfing them down that I didn’t get much more than “Mmmmm…” and “They’re good!” from anybody, and that’s fine by me!

Happy My Son’s Birthday!!

 

 

 

8 responses to “Chocolate Milk Waffles

  1. What a Special Treat! Happy Birthday to your son!

  2. It’s ok to have a special treat for breakfast on your birthday. And there are strawberries…fruit, right?

  3. I am so trying this one! Both for breakfast and waffles and ice cream-yum! What impresses me most though is that at 5 am you are planning meals for your kids. You rock! What an awesome mama!

  4. Pingback: Nutella Stuffed French Toast | The Critics In My Kitchen

  5. Well, tonight was one of those nights when I didn’t know what to make for dinner. We were supposed to have BBQ grilled shrimp with jasmine rice and peas but it was raining when I got home and none of the other ideas I suggested to my son sounded good. Until I suggested breakfast for dinner. We made these and low fat sausage links with fresh OJ. What a hit! Will definitely be making these again although this time I’ll try to remember 1/4 tsp of salt, not 1 1/4 tsps, LOL! : )

    • I’m so glad you liked them! We are actually having waffles for dinner tonight. I love breakfast for dinner, you can’t beat it!

      That’s funny about the salt. I just did the same thing with another recipe recently. Whoops!

Leave a Reply

