Grilled Romaine Salad with Feta Cheese

When I told my husband I wanted him to grill salad for dinner, he said, “?” Or at least, that’s the look he had on his face.

He didn’t say it, but I’m pretty sure he was thinking, “Grilled lettuce? She’s out of her mind, but this is probably for her blog, so I’ll humor her.”

It wasn’t until the food was finished grilling and put on a plate that he said, “This actually looks good.”

Grilled Romaine Salad with Feta Cheese

  • 2 Romaine lettuce hearts
  • 1 red onion
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • tomatoes
  • feta cheese

Directions:

  1. Cut the lettuce hearts in half. (see photo). Peel the red onion and cut that in half, too.
  2. Combine the oil, vinegar, garlic, salt, and pepper in a small bowl. Whisk well. Brush over cut side of lettuce and onion (reserve the rest of the dressing for serving). Grill vegetables, cut side down, for just a few minutes.
  3. Cut the lettuce crosswise into smaller pieces and arrange on a plate. Slice the onion and add to lettuce. Top with tomatoes and feta cheese. Drizzle with remaining dressing, if desired.

 

Halved Romaine hearts

Grilled Salad


 

Only little Elmo wouldn’t taste the salad. Everyone else loved it.

Batman: This is really good!
Sarah Crewe had several helpings and said, “I love it!”
Don Corleone: If Br’er Rabbit had a grill, this is how he’d eat salad.

And the funniest comment came from Curious George: This is actually really good! I can’t even taste any of the grill-ness.

It was really good, and it’s something I know we’ll make again. It’s so easy to throw on the grill when your main course is finished cooking. And despite what my four-year-old said, you could taste the “grill-ness,” and it was wonderful!

And less mess in the kitchen, to boot 🙂

3 responses to “Grilled Romaine Salad with Feta Cheese

  1. theveryhungrybookworm

    I love the comments from the kids. I only cook for me and my boyfriend, but I feel like his eating habits and wariness to new food would make him fit right in with the kids 🙂

  2. Grilled salad. Huh…that’s kind of…weird. What on earth inspired you to try it? It was probably much better than plain old boring salad!

Leave a Reply

