Chipotle Ranch Stovetop Popcorn

I love you, popcorn, oh yes I do

I don’t love anyone as much as you

When you’re not near me, I’m blue

Oh, popcorn, I love you.

I love popcorn. I love it with butter. I love it without butter. I love it with salt and without salt. I love stale movie theater popcorn. I love fresh stovetop popcorn. I love air-popped popcorn. I really, really love popcorn.

When I was a kid, I loved this book:

100 Pounds of Popcorn

I’ve always made air-popped popcorn, but a few years ago, my air popper broke. I would like to buy a new one, because it’s quicker than making popcorn on the stove, but I just never get around to it. So I cook it on the stove. And it’s good. Really good. So I don’t complain.

Chipotle Ranch Stovetop Popcorn

  • 3 tbsp oil
  • 1/3 cup popcorn kernels
  • 1 packet dry ranch dressing mix
  • 2 tsp chipotle chili powder

Directions:

  1. Pour oil into a large pot with a handle. Put in  3 unpopped kernels, cover, and place over medium-high heat. When the 3 kernels pop, then the oil is ready.
  2. Pour in the remaining popcorn. Replace the lid. Shake the pot every 3 seconds or so, so the kernels don’t burn. Carefully lift the lid every few seconds, too, to let steam escape. But don’t lift the lid too high, or kernels will escape, too.
  3. Continue cooking until the popping slows down to a few seconds in between pops (like you would with microwave popcorn). Remove from heat.
  4. While the popcorn is cooking (remember to keep shaking & lifting the lid… You can do it!), combine the ranch seasoning with the chili powder in a small container with a lid, or a ziploc bag.
  5. Pour the popcorn into a bowl and sprinkle with 4 tsp (more or less to taste) of the seasoning. Save the rest of the seasoning for another time.

Click here for a printable version.

 

Chipotle Ranch Popcorn

Do you like my popcorn bowl? It’s definitely my favorite kitchen item.

I find that when popcorn is cooked in oil, it doesn’t really need added butter, but you can certainly add it if you like.

Actually, let me rephrase that. It tastes much better with added butter, but since I eat so much popcorn, I don’t like to add the extra calories. If my husband makes it, however, and a bowl of popcorn that has butter on it just happens to show up on my lap… well, let’s just say I won’t turn it away.

This popcorn might be a bit spicy for the littlest ones, but Don Vito Corleone and I love it. We make it after the kids go to bed. And then in the morning, we usually hear something like, “Last night I crept downstairs and saw Mommy and Daddy happily munching on a bowl of popcorn, while watching 40 Rock on tv! They get to have all the fun!”

It’s true. Grown-ups get to haveall the fun. Kids never have fun. They have to eat boring, non-chipotle-ranch-flavored popcorn. Poor kids, they have a rough life.

But enough about them… go make some popcorn!

4 responses to “Chipotle Ranch Stovetop Popcorn

  1. Yummm…I love popcorn too. I’ll have to try it.

  2. Drolling over this one. Can’t wait to try it!

  3. The funny thing is your kids really do talk talk like that, with phrases like “happily munching” and “crept downstairs”. It’s so cute! You can tell they like books!

Leave a Reply

