The Don’s Chili Rubbed Barbecue Chicken

My husband, known here as Don Vito Corleone, will be sharing the next few recipes, as they are for the grill, and I know nothing about the grill.

One of his favorite things to make in the summer is chicken drumsticks. He varies the seasonings each time, but a particularly good combination is:

The Don’s Chili Rubbed Barbecue Chicken

  • 2 tbsp  chili powder
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 1/2 tsp Kosher salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (more or less to taste)
  • 12 chicken drumsticks (or other parts)
  • barbecue sauce

Directions:

Hmmm… he didn’t really give me directions. So I will take my best guess.

  1. Combine the spices in a small bowl. Rub all over chicken. Let sit for at least an hour. Cook chicken on the grill and brush with barbecue sauce in the last five minutes.

 

The Don's Chili Rubbed Barbecue Chicken

The plate is kind of a mess, because we were so excited to eat this that I forgot to take a picture until we were halfway through with dinner.

The Critics had some chicken without the spices on it, because Vito thought it might be too spicy. As it turns out, it wasn’t quite as spicy as we thought it would be, but if you’re making this for kids, I think reducing the amount of cayenne pepper to 1/4 tsp is probably a good idea.

The kids may have had plain chicken, but I sure didn’t, and whoa, baby. This chicken is Good with a capital “Guh.” I had to restrain myself from pushing everyone out of the way to get to the plate.

I will be sharing more of The Don‘s recipes over the next few days. I’m so grateful he can cook!

Here are some other rubs I’m excited to try:
Jerry’s Texas Barbecue Rub Recipe
Jay’s Asian Spice Rub
Spicy Seafood Rub
Meditterranean Spice Rub Recipe
Linked up with Finding Joy in My Kitchen and Designs by Gollum

2 responses to “The Don’s Chili Rubbed Barbecue Chicken

  1. Wow…..this looks so yummmmmy. My husband will love this recipe. Anything with cumin he devours. Will make this chicken this weekend for sure. Thanks for sharing . :-)))

  2. Yummy, what a great rub! The chicken looks great . Thanks for sharing and have a great week!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

