Zucchini Carpaccio Salad

I never heard of zucchini carpaccio before. “But that can’t be,” you must be thinking, “I thought you knew everything!”

I know. So did I.

I did a search for zucchini recipes, and apparently everybody else in the world has heard of zucchini carpaccio. I’m not sure why you were all hiding it from me, but I found it now! Ha!

We were on our way home from a trip to Delaware, and we stopped at a little farm stand to buy some yummy tomatoes and peppers. They also had zucchini. My family is not in love with zucchini. I’ve prepared it many different ways, but it’s almost always met with, “Eh.”

Except by my 8-year-old daughter (Sarah Crewe), who really doesn’t like it. She begged me not to buy it at the farm stand. “No, Mommy, please don’t buy zucchini! I hate zucchini!”

But the good thing about being a mom is that your kids are not the boss of you. Unless you’re one of those people who think that kids should be allowed to do whatever they want, because they’re “exploring their environment” or whatever. To you, I can only say… You must be soooo tired!

Anyway, my daughter isn’t the boss of me, so I bought zucchini, even though she told me not to. It looked so yummy! And when I got home and googled “zucchini recipes,” I discovered zucchini carpaccio. And now we’re back to where we started.

Zucchini Carpaccio

this recipe is from Kalyn’s Kitchen

  • 2 medium or 3 small zucchini, sliced thinly
  • sea salt and fresh ground pepper to taste
  • 1 large lemon
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1-2 tbsp chopped dill
  • 2 tbsp thinly sliced chives
  • 2 tbsp crumbled goat cheese (I used feta)

Directions:

  1. Arrange sliced zucchini on a serving platter and season with salt and pepper. If you’re doing more than one layer of zucchini, be sure to season each layer.
  2. Zest the lemon and put the zest in a small dish. Squeeze all of the juice from the lemon into the dish, discarding seeds. You should have about 2 tbsp lemon juice.
  3. Whisk oil into the zest/juice mixture, and pour the dressing over the zucchini slices. Let marinate for about 15-30 minutes.
  4. Sprinkle zucchini with chopped herbs and cheese and serve immediately.

Zucchini Carpaccio Salad

Wow. Wow! This is how I am going to prepare zucchini from now on! This was fantastic! Check out these comments from the Critics:

Don Corleone: This is so good! It’d be great on a gardenburger.

Sarah Crewe, zucchini-hater: It’s yummy! It tastes like pickles!

Batman: It’s really good! It’s delicious!

Elmo: I tasted it. I try more, okay? (then, asking for seconds): I some more? It’s delicious!

Only Curious George wasn’t pleased: At first it tastes like lemon. Then it just tastes like zucchini.

Why am I so ecstatic about this salad? Maybe it’s because it’s SUPER YUMMY! Maybe it’s because my 8-year-old, who begged me not to buy zucchini, liked it. Maybe it’s because my 2-year-old called it “delicious.” Maybe it’s because I will finally get all those “zucchini carpaccio” jokes that used to just go over my head.

I don’t know. I just know that it will definitely show up again and again at our house!

2 responses to “Zucchini Carpaccio Salad

  1. I just stopped at the store and picked up the ingredients to make this dish. Can’t wait to try it (wish me luck).

Leave a Reply

