Elmo and Abby Cupcakes

These cupcakes are so easy to do, I’m almost embarrassed to share. But I have a little bit of writer’s/cooking block, so I’m going to just go ahead and share them anyway.

Start with your favorite basic cupcake recipe (or a mix; I don’t judge). Bake as directed, then cool completely.

Pipe one layer of buttercream frosting (I used my favorite frosting, from Savory Sweet Life) onto each cupcake using a star-shaped tip. Then do one more layer, only around the outside. Pour a generous amount of jimmies onto a plate, and gently press each cupcake into the sprinkles, being careful not to squish the frosting. Then press a Wilton Elmo or Abby icing decoration onto the center of each cupcake.

So simple, but they look so cute:

Elmo & Abby cupcakes

Of course you don’t have to use Elmo and Abby decorations. You can use any character or design you like. You could do Dora the Explorer, Lightning McQueen, Thomas the Tank Engine… the possibilities are as endless as the cake decorating aisle at Michael’s.

Hmmm… I wonder if Wilton makes Nathan Fillion decorations? Must check on that before my November birthday 🙂

One response to “Elmo and Abby Cupcakes

  1. theveryhungrybookworm

    Those look delightful, especially because they are easy!! Is it bad that I want to make them for myself?

Leave a Reply

