Tomato, Cucumber, and Onion Salad

Yesterday was Harrison Ford’s birthday. (It was my sister’s birthday, too, in case you are interested, but that doesn’t lead into my story). He turned 69. Am I the only one shocked by this? Do you think he is?

This is a conversation that I overheard in the backyard today, between two of my three Star Wars-obsessed children:

Batman: Do you think Harrison Ford and Carrie Fisher are really in love?

Sarah Crewe: [laughing] Madly in love?

Batman: Yeah, do you think they’re ‘madly in love?’

Sarah Crewe: I don’t know. I guess so.

Batman: I wonder what it means to be ‘madly in love.’

Sarah Crewe: I think it means that you love love love someone.

I’m madly in love with my crazy kids. I’m madly in love with my husband. And if “love love love” is the true definition of “madly in love,” then I am madly in love with summer tomatoes.

My favorite way of eating a ripe summer tomato is sliced, on toast, with just a little mayo, salt and pepper. I also like eating them with fresh mozzarella cheese, basil, and a little olive oil. I like to just pick up a tomato and eat it like an apple, although it is pretty messy.

Yesterday I made this salad:

Tomato, Cucumber, and Onion Salad

  • 2 medium ripe tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 medium cucumbers, peeled and chopped
  • 1 small or 1/2 large onion, sliced thinly and separated into rings
  • handful fresh basil, chopped
  • sea salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tbsp crumbled feta cheese, optional
  • 2 tbsp white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

Directions:

  1. Combine tomato, cucumber, and onion in a large bowl. Sprinkle with basil, salt, and pepper. Add cheese.
  2. Whisk oil and vinegar together in a small bowl. Pour over salad. Serve immediately, or refrigerate until ready to serve.

Tomato, Cucumber, and Onion Salad

This is such a great summer salad. I often make a smaller version of this, with just cucumbers and onions, but this time the tomatoes were calling my name, and if you read this blog regularly, you know that I always listen when food talks to me.

My Critics liked it, for the most part.

Elmo: Some more? Please?

Batman: This is the best salad I ever had in my life!

Sarah Crewe: This is really good!

Don Corleone doesn’t like cucumbers, so he was excused from today’s tasting.

Curious George: It’s good. I think it’s the best salad I ever had in my life, too, but… I just don’t want any more.

I call that a success!

Since I am also madly in love with sleep, I think I’ll go start the bedtime ritual now! Good night 🙂

4 responses to “Tomato, Cucumber, and Onion Salad

  1. Pingback: Tomato, Cucumber, and Onion Salad (via The Critics In My Kitchen) « Grammarqueen’s Blog

  2. Yay, thanks for the the shout out! I’m going to try this salad!

  3. Pingback: What to do with all those cucumbers - Musings of a Homemaker

Leave a Reply

