Sweet Iced Tea

I love sweet iced tea. So I never make it.

Do you have anything that you can’t make, or products you can’t buy, because you simply have no self-control around them?

For me, Nutella is one. I can’t buy it, because me + spoon + Nutella = regret. Although, I do have a Nutella recipe coming up soon… but I won’t buy the ingredients until the day I’m going to make it!

Oh, not just Nutella. No sir. Reese’s peanut butter cups. Or Reese’s pieces. Or pretty much anything with the chocolate/peanut butter combination.

Trader Joe’s version of the Oreo, in vanilla. So good. I can eat the whole package before you can say, “I love you, Trader Joe, run away with me!”

Soda. I don’t know why, I don’t even like it that much. But I can’t keep it in the house, because I will drink it all. You know what soda is? It’s a crappy reality show starring really annoying people that I can’t stand, that ends up on my t.v. no matter how hard I try to change the channel. I don’t like reality shows. I don’t want to watch them. But sometimes I get stuck on them, and I have to shamefully switch the channel, quick, before my husband walks into the room. At least Nutella is 30 Rock.

And sweet iced tea. I like unsweetened iced tea, too. But sweet iced tea is just so… summer. I love it. Sweet tea is no reality show.

Sweet Iced Tea

  1. Bring 8 cups of water to a boil. Pour over 10 tea bags in a gallon-sized pitcher. Let steep for 10 minutes.
  2. Squeeze out the tea bags with the back of a long spoon (be careful!). Stir in 1 cup sugar.
  3. Fill the rest of the pitcher with cold water. Chill.

Sweet Iced Tea

Do you know the Frog and Toad stories? My kids love Frog and Toad. There’s a story called “Cookies” that gets quoted around my house an awful lot. Frog and Toad struggle with a bowl of cookies:

“We must stop eating!” cried Toad as he ate another.

“Yes,” said Frog, reaching for a cookie, “we need will power.”

After eating too many cookies, they take the bowl outside to feed the birds.

“Now we have no more cookies to eat,” said Toad sadly. “Not even one.”

“Yes,” said Frog, “but we have lots and lots of will power.”

“You may keep it all, Frog,” said  Toad. “I am going home now to bake a cake.”

I love Toad.

Here’s to not having will power!

 

4 responses to “Sweet Iced Tea

  1. theveryhungrybookworm

    I love your comparison to TV! If nutella is 30 rock, then sweet iced tea is The Office 🙂

  2. Ha! I laughed at your comparison of soda to reality TV. Too funny.

Leave a Reply

