Crescent Roll-ups

Sometimes I wish I was a Cool Snack Mom. One of those Moms that makes little bunny rabbits out of carrots, celery, and grape tomatoes. Or rocket ships out of broccoli and soybeans.

I’m more likely to toss the kids a bag of baby carrots and tell them to make sure they share. Then sit back and watch as a Lord of the Flies-like scenario unfolds.

But every once in a while (like if I remember to buy crescent rolls at the store, i.e. very rarely) I make a Cool Snack.

Crescent Roll-ups

  • package of Pillsbury crescent rolls
  • brown sugar
  • raisins
  • finely chopped nuts

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375˚
  2. Open the crescent roll package and separate into the pre-cut isosceles triangles (nerd!). Lay the triangles out on an ungreased baking sheet.
  3. Sprinkle each triangle with 1/2 teaspoon brown sugar. Add a few raisins and nuts.
  4. Roll up each triangle, starting with the base of the triangle and ending with the point. Bake in preheated oven for 11-15 minutes.

 

Crescent Roll-ups

Click here for printable version.

I’ve made this many times, and each time it’s a little different. It’s a great recipe for kids to make themselves. I put out a bunch of “fillings,” give each kid two triangles, and let them roll up their own. We’ve used coconut, chocolate chips, Nutella, and other dried fruits. This time, our fillings were brown sugar, diced strawberries, and chopped almonds. I listed the brown sugar, raisins, and nuts above because that’s what I always have on hand, and that’s usually the way we make them. But it’s always fun to switch things up a bit. I’m a Cool Mom like that.

The Critics always like this snack. I asked Curious George what he thought of them this time and he said, “They were good. Wait, can I have another one? Well, if I can’t, then they were just okay.” Humph. Take your threats elsewhere, my friend.

Cool Moms don’t take bribes.

2 responses to “Crescent Roll-ups

  1. You’re totally cool. Can I make one too please? I want to put chopped apple in mine!

Leave a Reply

