Grilled Pitas with Herbed Cheese

Seven years ago, when my Batman was born, a family from our church brought us a lovely dinner. It was one of the most amazing meals I ever had. But of course, when you are nursing a newborn round the clock and are sleep deprived and hormonal AND taking care of a two-year-old, any meal that you don’t have to cook yourself is pretty amazing.

But this one really was good. I’ve tried to duplicate it over the years, but I never get it quite right. But this is pretty close. I’m sharing the bread recipe today, and the main course tomorrow.

Grilled Pitas with Herbed Cheese

  • whole wheat pitas, cut in half
  • soft, spreadable herbed cheese (I used Aloutte Garlic & Herb)
  • olive oil

Directions:

  1. Carefully open the pocket on each pita half, and spread about 1-2 tbsp cheese inside. Brush each side of bread with olive oil, and grill for just a minute or two, until the bread is lightly browned and warm.

 

Grilled Pitas with Herbed Cheese

Batman was the only Critic who didn’t like this bread, but he doesn’t like cheese, so that’s no surprise. Everyone else loved it.

This family doesn’t go to our church anymore, and we’ve lost touch. But I’d also love to have the recipe for the dessert they brought us. It was called Sunshine Cake, and it had a citrus flavor. It was pound cake consistency, but in a bundt shape. I haven’t been able to duplicate that one… if anyone has any suggestions, I’d be grateful!


2 responses to “Grilled Pitas with Herbed Cheese

  1. Yum, that looks good! I love pita bread! Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be great 🙂

  2. Pingback: Greek Salad with Steak | The Critics In My Kitchen

Leave a Reply

