Herb Oil for Dipping Bread

Hold onto your hats, this is a good one!

This oil goes best with a fresh loaf of Italian bread. It is so good. Don Corleone and I can make a meal out of the bread and oil alone. Forget a main dish.

Just kidding, Mom, we wouldn’t really do that. We definitely would have some veggies, too.

Herb Oil for Dipping Bread

adapted from cdkitchen

  • 1 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1 1/2 tsp basil
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp minced dried onion
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2-1 tsp Kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

Directions:

  1. Combine spices on a deep plate or bowl.
  2. Pour olive oil over spices and stir. Dip bread. Again. Again. Go ahead and double dip, I won’t tell.

Click here for printable

Herb Oil for Bread Dipping

Sorry for the bad picture. I was in such a hurry to eat that I didn’t take my time.

This is a little spicy. But it doesn’t seem to bother the kids. However. Confession: I make an even simpler version for the kids, with just oregano and garlic. Not because it’s too spicy. No. It’s because once I add the oil, I remember how good this is, and I don’t want to share with my children. So Don Corleone and I eat it all by ourselves, and then I give the kids the simpler one and tell them they can’t have ours because I made it extra spicy this time.

Confession number two: It’s also kind of salty. And every time I make it, I think maybe I should use only 1/2 tsp of salt. But then I don’t. Because I like it salty. Even though it is almost too salty. I know it doesn’t make sense. But I use so little salt in my cooking and hardly any at the table, that I let this one go. But you might want to try 1/2 tsp salt at first, and add more as needed.

Phew! Glad I got that off my chest!

This recipe is linked up at:

5 responses to “Herb Oil for Dipping Bread

  1. Can I just say that there’s absolutely nothing wrong with eating nothing but bread for supper every now and then? i mean yeah, you could cut up some carrot sticks. But really, who wants to dip carrots in oil? Mmmmm…bread.

  2. A super easy solution to entertaining.. Thanks so much for sharing on Friday Food on Momtrends. I love checking out all the foodie creations. Enjoy the weekend.

  3. This looks so good! I’m having friends over for dinner tonight and I think I’ll serve this as an appetizer. Thanks!
    -Carrie

Leave a Reply

