Whole Wheat Bread Machine Hot Dog & Hamburger Buns

Let me tell you about my small appliances.

I’m a sucker for small specialty kitchen appliances, but fortunately, my budget-conscious side prevents me from going overboard. So I don’t buy (or ask for) one unless I really, really, really want it, and really, really, really believe that I’ll use it.

I’m intrigued by these mini donut makers:

Sunbeam FPSBDML920 Donut Maker, Yellow

I drink too much coffee to make this worthwhile, but I adore the Keurig:

Keurig B-70 B70 Platinum Single-Cup Home Brewing System

Griddle me this: What small appliance can you use to cook burgers INside your house, in the dead of winter, faster than you can say, “Holy unnecessary purchase, Batman!”? Why, The Griddler, of course:
Cuisinart GR-4N 5-in-1 Griddler

Two words: Fon. Due.:

Cuisinart CFO-3SS Electric Fondue Maker

I don’t really know why you would need a panini press,  other than to put those fancy grill marks on your grilled cheese, but who cares? It’s still fun:

Cuisinart GR-1 Griddler Panini and Sandwich Press

But even though they all look neat, I know they’d be a waste in my house, and just take up space I don’t really have. They just don’t seem practical.

However, as for my own appliances, I love them. I do. I’m not saying I name them or anything (well, it’s possible that in college I named my toaster Harry. And it’s possible that my roommate’s hot pot was named Sally. Just sayin’). Come to think of it, maybe I should name them. Hmmm… that sounds like a project for the kids.

Anyway, I love my crock pot, my waffle maker, and my bread machine. Okay, fine, I love my ice cream maker, too. Oh, and my stick blender. Love that thing. Wait… does a chocolate fountain count as a small appliance? I guess I better mention it.

Okay, so they don’t all get used all the time.

But my bread machine? That thing earns it’s keep.

I found this recipe for hot dog and hamburger buns one day when I got home from the zoo with the kids, and didn’t really have a plan for supper. I saw that we had veggie burgers in the freezer, but no buns. And after spending the day at the zoo, the last thing I wanted to do was to go back out to the store, with three kids in tow (one was at school). So I went online and did a search for bread machine buns, and here we are.

Whole Wheat Bread Machine Hot Dog & Hamburger Buns

adapted slightly from food.com

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 teaspoons yeast

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients in bread pan, select Dough setting, and press Start.
  2. When dough has risen enough, the machine will beep. Remove bread pan, and turn out dough onto a floured countertop. Gently roll and shape the dough into a 12-inch rope.
  3. With a sharp knife, divide dough into 8 pieces for hamburger buns or 12 pieces for hot dog buns.
  4. Grease a baking sheet. Roll pieces of dough into balls and flatten for hamburger buns or shape into 6-inch rolls for hot dog buns. Place on prepared baking sheet. Cover and let rise in warm oven 10 to 15 minutes until almost doubled.
  5. Preheat oven to 400°F Bake 10 to 12 minutes until golden brown (be careful mine cook pretty fast). Remove from oven and cool on racks. When ready to use, split buns horizontally. These will keep in plastic bag in the freezer for 3 to 4 weeks

Click here for printable

Whole Wheat Hamburger Buns

Major shadows in the picture. I don’t know what my problem is with photos lately!

These buns are amazing. Don Corleone says they’re way better than the cheap store-brand buns we usually buy, and whenever he sees them cooling on the counter, he comments on how amazing they look. The kids love them, too.

I’m not saying they’re easier than just buying a bag of buns at the store, but really, some days, I think they might be.

Plus, I have to make sure I show my bread machine some love. It deserves it.

7 responses to “Whole Wheat Bread Machine Hot Dog & Hamburger Buns

  1. Much more pleasant to make some buns than to trek to the store I think 🙂

  2. Finally a good excuse for a bread machine – I’m so impressed!

  3. I think a chocolate fountain definitely counts! I’ve always wanted one of those…

  4. I’m stranded today! Carless and with no buns. You saved dinner! 🙂

Leave a Reply

