Slumber Party

My little Sarah Crewe turned nine this month, and she wanted to have a slumber party. Our first slumber party! Woohoo!!

She invited four girls, so it was small and manageable. We ordered pizza, had cake, opened presents, made flip-flop slippers (dubbed “flippers” by the girls), and that’s where the “we” ends. I went to bed.

I was woken up lots of times. “Eeeeek!!! There’s a bug” (well, they didn’t really say ‘Eeeeeek’ I just wanted to write that) around 11 p.m., “Can we have some pizza?” around 1 a.m., “Can we paint our nails” at 2, “Can we have more cake” around 3, “Can you help us with the DVD player” at 4. It didn’t really bother me; I thought it was very cute and sweet that they felt they had to ask me every little thing.

What was missing from this sleepover was one very important  slumber party component. Drama. I’ve been to lots of sleepovers. I even babysat an 8-year-old’s slumber party once when I was in college. They all have drama. But not this one. They all got along. Nobody wanted to go home. Nobody hated anybody else and then later made up but then hated a different girl. Nobody (to the best of my knowledge) pretended to be asleep while the other girls whispered about her: “I didn’t want to invite her. My mom made me.” (Not that that ever happened to me, of course. I’m just saying it could happen.) Nobody sang, “Look at Me, I’m Sandra Dee” while one girl was in the bathroom.

"Look at me, I'm Sandra Dee" -Grease

Nobody escaped to the back porch and sang “Hopelessly Devoted to You” while she floated some guy’s picture in the pond.

"Hopelessly Devoted to You" -Grease

In fact, I’m pretty sure the only singing that went on was when they started singing something from Spongebob (but I am proud to say that my daughter said in response, “That show is so stupid”).

There was one point that the girls put on a little show that looked suspicially like the slumber party scene in 13 Going on 30 (minus the Pat Benatar music… man, that would’ve been awesome):

13 Going on 30

I made my first attempt at cake balls, which I think came out quite nice:

Cake Balls

I borrowed the book Cake Pops by Bakerella but I think I’m going to have to buy it. It’s full of great ideas! I also made cupcake bites:

Cupcake Bites

I’m really happy that my daughter had such a fun sleepover. Although I am continuing to wonder why I got so lucky. Does that mean the next one will be a disaster?

Don’t answer that!

8 responses to “Slumber Party

  1. I love the pictures you draw to illustrate the post, hysterical! The cake balls look really well done! I may have to pick up that book, too.

  2. I actually tasted the cake balls and they are amazing. A little taste of heaven in your mouth! I also love the small serving size….no more “I’ll just have a little sliver of the cake” now its “pass the cake balls please”. This critic says “Bravo”

  3. Thanks! Yes, the serving size is perfect & very manageable!

  4. I’m glad that party was fun for everyone! Boy, do I remember slumber party drama…

    And now I’m going to be singing “We are young…” for the rest of the day.

Leave a Reply

