Safari Celery Boats

The other day, when the rest of the east coast was feeling that strange rumbling sensation that Californians call an “earthquake,” my family and I were at the zoo. We didn’t feel a thing. Rats! I can’t believe I missed it!

But we had a lovely time. We adore the zoo.

Philadelphia Zoo

Isn’t that a cool picture of the polar bear with the Zoo Balloon in the background?

And here is a close up of the cuddly guy (or girl??):

Cute widdle polar bear!

Hard to believe that furry white snuggle bear is actually one of the most vicious animals on the planet!

My Batman likes the penguins best:

Humboldt Penguin

And I like the giraffes, especially now that they have a new little baby, Abby:

My favorite exhibit 🙂

Sorry I didn’t get a better picture of the baby. But that’s either her Mommy (Stella) or her Daddy (Gus). I just love their names!

And check out this rhino:

Wow, these guys are HUGE!

I wouldn’t want to get on his bad side!

My kids have been imitating this lazy fellow for the past two days:

It's hard work being a gorilla

I shouldn’t call him lazy. Who knows, he may have already put in a full day’s work by the time we got to him.

Well, in between the earthquake and the impending arrival of Hurricane Irene, I’d like to tell you about a fun after school snack: Safari Celery Boats.

Now, if your cooking skills are not up to par, you might want to just skip this one. It’s REALLY tough. I mean it.

First you take a piece of celery. Then you spread peanut butter on it. Then stick some animal crackers into the peanut butter.

Sigh. I knew I shouldn’t have posted such a challenging recipe. I really don’t want to alienate anyone by showing off my superior skills and creativity.

Truthfully, though, this is  a great after-school snack, and one that’s easy for the kids to make themselves. Sure, it’s nice to have visions of the kids getting off the school bus and walking into the house with the delicious aroma of fresh baked cookies wafting into their sweet little noses. But the reality is, that’s just not always possible. More often than not, I’m running around, trying to finish up the laundry, start dinner, referee the bickering, clean up the toys scattered about the house… oops, I mean making the kids clean up the toys… you know… life, and all that stuff.

So it’s nice to have a healthy snack that the kids can actually prepare themselves. And it’s cute, to boot!

Safari Celery Boats

If you are in the path of Irene, which I apparently am, judging by the media hype and the “sky is falling” attitude of my fellow shoppers at Walmart this morning, then I will send some prayers and well wishes your way (and maybe you can send some mine?).  Good luck!

This post is linked up at Designs by Gollum and Mom Trends

11 responses to “Safari Celery Boats

  1. very cute! It’s so funny that celery and PB can be so simple and yet so delicious. Who would’ve thunk to add in an animal cracker! haha Love the pics by the way!

  2. Very creative, inexpensive, tasty, and easy! Good idea!

  3. Great idea, especially when the electric goes out. My house is all electric so if we loose it, no cooking. So what’s do we eat. Why there’s Safari Celery Boats of course. Thanks for the idea.

  4. Cute! We’ve done ants on a log (using raisins vs. animal crackers) but I bet they would be all over this version!

  5. Okay – you had me at the Phila. Zoo photos — being from Philly (now transplanted to Maine) I used to visit all the time. Back in 2008 when gas prices soared, I even made my daughters WALK. Yes, I am cruel like that. Bwhahahahah!!

    Love this cute snack. I will definitely be making this. Though I’m not sure ours will be as tasty. (Your witty repartee makes it all the better.)

    Your blog is terrific!

    • Thank you, Christy! I’ve been reading your blog for a few weeks now, but I didn’t realize you were from Philly! We love the zoo- we go all the time. A little too far to walk though, that would be super cruel 😉

  6. Hah! Never say never…
    bwhahahahah!! 😉

Leave a Reply

