Jack-O-Lantern Smoothies

Am I the only one who enjoys watching holiday TV specials on the night they’re aired, instead of on DVD whenever you want? There’s something about watching a Charlie Brown special on TV and knowing that everybody you know is watching it at the exact same time as you.  Which, due to DVD players, TIVO, DVRs, Netflix, online viewing, etc, etc, etc… probably isn’t even true. I don’t care, I still like to watch them on the night they’re on. Which means I’ll have to leave the PTO meeting a wee bit early this week, so I can watch It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown with my kids (and every other person I know who will also be watching it at the exact same time as me).

Just kidding, PTO, I actually have something really important that I have to do that night at 8:00 EST, that’s why I have to leave early.

Drawing by Curious George, age 5

Jack-O-Lantern Smoothies

makes 4 small child-size smoothies

  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips, melted
  • 1/2 cup frozen peaches
  • 1/2 large banana
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • small, clear plastic cups

Directions:

  1. Using a small utensil or toothpick, create a Jack-O-Lantern face on the inside of each cup with the melted chocolate.
  2. Place remaining ingredients in a blender together and blend until smooth. Pour into prepared cups.

Jack-o-Lantern smoothies

We had some guest critics over the morning I made these. Everyone loved them, kids and adults alike. They were especially impressed that the faces were made with chocolate, and not drawn on the cups with marker, as they originally thought.

I got the idea for these from someone else’s blog about healthy Halloween treats. I like to give credit where credit is due, but for the life of me, I can’t remember which blog it was, and googling it has not helped. So if it was your blog, or you know whose it was, please let me know!

Happy Halloween!

3 responses to “Jack-O-Lantern Smoothies

  1. Yumm!! You know I love smoothies! Gotta try this one.

  2. These are adorable and I too LOVE smoothies. Must try these (whenever I can score some peaches!)

    Wish I was watching Charlie Brown with you – but I def was in spirit!

    🙂

    PS: I haven’t even gotten round to costumes yet. Thank goodness I’ve got the weekend!!! woot.

  3. so soooo cute!! such an wonderful idea!

Leave a Reply

