Turkey Cookies

You should have seen my son’s face when I said I was going to make turkey cookies for his school’s Thanksgiving “feast.”

I had to assure him that the cookies were made to look like turkeys, not made out of turkeys.

Although, cookies made from turkey… hmmm…

Just kidding!

Turkey Cookies

Turkey Cookies (fromPillsbury.com)

  •  Your favorite sugar cookie recipe (I used this one)
  • candy corn
  • chocolate frosting
  • orange and black decorating frosting or gels

Directions:

  1. Prepare sugar cookies as directed. When cool, spread a little bit of frosting on each cookie in an arch at the top. Gently press candy corn on top of the frosting, as shown.
  2. Using the decorating gels, give your turkeys eyes, beaks, and feet.
  3. Let dry.

These cookies looked so cute when they were finished that my kids had a good 20-minute argument over why it is or isn’t unfair that only Curious George got to have one.

Ah, Thanksgiving…

In keeping with the turkey theme, I’d like to share a picture that my Sarah Crewe drew when she was five years old.

Turkey's Dinner

It’s a picture of a turkey at the stove, cooking dinner. And another turkey handing the chef a pair of um… well, human legs.

Don’t ask why or how a five-year-old thought of this. I don’t like to go there.

But I think it’s funny.

Gobble Gobble!

9 responses to “Turkey Cookies

  1. I definitely “pinned” this to my Thanksgiving for Kids pinterest board. Very cute!

  2. Oh my goodness, those cookies are just too cute! ~Ruth~

  3. so so cute! I love this idea. I’m so excited for all things Thanksgiving and this seems like the perfect addition for the dessert table. thanks for sharing!
    xx

  4. How do you think of these things? So cute!

    Love the picture by your daughter too!

  5. LOVE these cookies!! Must get candy corn before it’s all gone so I can make these for my younger daughter’s class. PS: Did you know it took me forever to find candy corn made in the USA? Seriously. Who needs imported candy corn?? It’s not brie.

  6. These are cute!!! I need to make them with my two also.

    Thanks for linking up to Friday Food on Momtrends.com last week!

  7. Pingback: Just in time for Thanksgiving.. « The Daily Dish

  8. LOL that drawing is adorably hilarious. And those cookies are too cute!

  9. Cute cookies, clever daughter!

Leave a comment